Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sunshinesistah
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This soup is delicious and easy! I used 2 tbs olive oil, that was plenty. I substituted 2 quarts of veggie broth for the boullion. So good! Made 4 large servings, 200 calories each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Just made it, taste really good and is healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This is a nice basic recipe but we needed a bit more so my Sweet Hubby added the garbanzo beans, 1 bottle clam juice, shrimp & 1 tsp slap your mama seafood boil to the half recipe we started with & that made a wonderful soup on a cool evening. Next time we'll use a 1/2 tsp slap your mama spice--remember that's for a one half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Great recipe! As other reviewers I added a little something: some Italian herbs, a sliced carrot and a handful of red lentils. I also did not drain the tomatoes and added the juice. The soup was delicious and I am already looking forward to the leftovers. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CA cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This soup was incredible. I pureed the whole can of tomatoes and poured it in with juice. I did add carrots, extra garlic and a teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I also added some turmeric just because I'm trying to get more of that into my diet. I will make this many times. I can see adding potatoes or sausage or meat or spinach - I think this soup will let you add almost anything to each one's taste. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BluDragon
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I used 4 cloves of garlic, (love garlic), & added a good few dashes of jerk seasoning & 1 teaspoon of oregano . Added 1 green, bell pepper & carrots sliced, to sautéed onion & garlic. Also added 3 medium potatoes. Cooked, low heat for 50 minutes, (to let flavors meld & tomatoes cook down,(only way I can eat tomatoes). Last 15 minutes I added 1-15 oz can of cannellini beans along with cabbage! Jerk seasoning gives a good kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Very good. I used chicken and vegetable broth instead of water, used less liquid than called for, and added cannellini beans beans to then sauteing onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Wonderful recipe & great for cold days. Followed the recipe exactly, but added 1 lb. of fully cooked Turkey polish sausage cut in rounds & 2 teaspoons of dried Oregano. This is a keeper in my recipe box. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ferryal Lackey
Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Used entire onion and a little more garlic. OMG this soup is amazing so pure so so fulfilling. Can't wait to have it for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I loved this soup. I used the healing cabbage soup recipe and then I added 6 more cloves of garlic (no it won't be to much garlic, but you can adjust to your tast), 2 cups of fresh chopped mushrooms, and 1/2 half of a small head of cauliflower. In addition I added fresh oregano and thyme. To give it some heat, I added a small teaspoon of sriracha chili sauce. Of course salt and pepper to taste with a dash of garlic powder. And last, 7 cups of chicken broth mixed with 2 TBL of chicken flavored Better than Bullion. Next, I added 1 1/2 cup of white wine. I have also made this with 1 1/2 lb of browned ground beef added to the soup and used red win instead of white. It was also fantastic. Enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States