Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2015
This is more for your information, than a review. I'm doing a 'Fast Mimicking Diet', for 5 days a month, so I needed the calorie content. My summary is below, and based on Google searches for calories per item (garlic, onion, etc.), or the package, if I had it (chicken stock and tomatoes). If you are using this to diet, this should be relatively accurate, at least for most purposes, but again all is approximate when you are cooking with vegetables (or fruits), due to differences in weight. By my estimate, here is the breakdown: Calories: 920 cal total recipe, and per serving (based on 8 servings): 115 cal By Category: Fat: 184 cal total, 23 cal per serving Protein: 92 cal total, ~12 cal per serving Carb: 644 cal total, ~80 cal per serving Hope that helps for anyone using this as a diet, or with dietary restrictions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
I do apologize, I can't review the exact recipe, I know that's annoying. I used chicken stock (lower sodium) instead of the bouillon granules, and I didn't have the tomatoes so I used a red bell pepper. I added ground turkey, and some various veggies I had on hand. The nice thing about this recipe is that it's flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
7/1/15: Hubby loved this even though it is July. Used a slaw mix that had carrots. Followed other suggestions and added whole chopped onion and 4 large garlic cloves. A definite keeper - thanks so much. OOPS. forgot to mention I added a can of white beans, rinsed and drained but did not drain the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I have to say this recipe always makes me feel so much better when I feel like a cold is beginning. The original recipe is fantastic but it is also fun adding whatever you like to it. GREAT treatment for a cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sunshinesistah
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This soup is delicious and easy! I used 2 tbs olive oil, that was plenty. I substituted 2 quarts of veggie broth for the boullion. So good! Made 4 large servings, 200 calories each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Just made it, taste really good and is healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This is a nice basic recipe but we needed a bit more so my Sweet Hubby added the garbanzo beans, 1 bottle clam juice, shrimp & 1 tsp slap your mama seafood boil to the half recipe we started with & that made a wonderful soup on a cool evening. Next time we'll use a 1/2 tsp slap your mama spice--remember that's for a one half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Great recipe! As other reviewers I added a little something: some Italian herbs, a sliced carrot and a handful of red lentils. I also did not drain the tomatoes and added the juice. The soup was delicious and I am already looking forward to the leftovers. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CA cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
This soup was incredible. I pureed the whole can of tomatoes and poured it in with juice. I did add carrots, extra garlic and a teaspoon of cayenne pepper. I also added some turmeric just because I'm trying to get more of that into my diet. I will make this many times. I can see adding potatoes or sausage or meat or spinach - I think this soup will let you add almost anything to each one's taste. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BluDragon
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I used 4 cloves of garlic, (love garlic), & added a good few dashes of jerk seasoning & 1 teaspoon of oregano . Added 1 green, bell pepper & carrots sliced, to sautéed onion & garlic. Also added 3 medium potatoes. Cooked, low heat for 50 minutes, (to let flavors meld & tomatoes cook down,(only way I can eat tomatoes). Last 15 minutes I added 1-15 oz can of cannellini beans along with cabbage! Jerk seasoning gives a good kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 656) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States