Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This is awesome soup. I love the basic recipe, but then I add whatever veggies are in the crisper and it just makes it yummier. This time I added zucchini, carrots, potatoes, and celery plus leftover chicken breast. I took the advice of another reviewer and added oregano, thyme, parsley and cayenne, which just brought its savoriness to a whole new level. I had two bowls for dessert tonight after dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I absolutely love this recipe. I think I've made it about 8 times now and it is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I wants to make a healthy soup, but with substance and this was a great base for a great soup. I say "base", because you can add so much more. I added fresh vegetables (carrots, celery, mushrooms) and the soup was great! I added 6 teaspoons of chicken bouillons. I guess the more vegetables alter the original taste. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
first time i made this,my husband was skeptical. when i came home from work the next day; my husband said you better make another pot. he ate it all! i had to make another batch to freeze for winter. my love has since passed away but i still think of the first time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Good base, not even seasoning. I added baby red potatoes, yellow squash, and carrots. When it was done, my husband and I added hot sauce to our bowls lol. My 22 month old daughter ate it up, which surprised me! We will be making this again- I had just been looking for a way to use the cabbage from our food co-op and I'm glad I found this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
YUMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Love this recipe. I try to made it monthly. For my husband I will add shredded chicken (leftover rotisserie works great) or browned ground beef but it is excellent as is for me. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I admittedly changed a few things and thus didn't try the original recipe. However what I ended up with was much enjoyed. I used two quarts of organic chicken stock instead of the water and bouillon. I had a small head of cabbage and I just used the whole thing. I added sliced carrots as well as their greens and dandelion greens as well. The bitter greens worked really well in this soup. I also added four links of organic kielbasa which delivered a magnificent spice to the broth. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireflyrebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I am sure this soup is perfect the way it is, but I used it as a base for a bigger soup. Added a jalapeno for the flavor, carrot, potato, celery, zucchini, red and green bell pepper. Used chicken broth instead of water. Along with salt and pepper, added some red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper, and a little bit of chardonnay for flavor. Turned out to be delicious!!! Wife and Father loved it, I loved it. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I added a 1/2 cup of brown rice. I also used pre-shredded cabbage since that's all Trader Joe's had! It worked and it was very delicious, but I want to use big chunks of cabbage next time. I love it when I get that earthy cabbage taste- but you need it in big chunks to get that I think.. I also used like 8 cloves of garlic because I love garlic. Yummy!!! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 653) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States