Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made this on a day when my husband and I were not feeling good. Used Savoy cabbage; added carrots and celery. Chopped up tomato but also included the juice. Used canned low-sodium broth. Water never adds flavor and I don't use bouillon cubes. Next time I will probably add potatoes. Very good soup and really is a comfort food when you don't feel good but will eat other times too. So simple and fast to make. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I'm not sure if it's fair for me to rate this, as I did make some changes. I added sliced carrots while sauteing the onions, doubled the garlic, used homemade stock and omitted the bouillon, and added very healthy dashes of cayenne pepper, pepper flakes and paprika as well as added more italian seasoning (the flavor wasn't very strong on the tomatoes, which I didn't drain). It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I'm making this soup for the second time now. My parents and I both love it. My mom said it reminds her of soups her mom made. I do add other vegetables like carrots and celery to it just because I really like those veggies in my soups. I feel like a cold is coming on and this will hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laura.ann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Overall it was good. I added some carrot that added some color to the soup. I wish the sauce was a bit thicker. Next time I'll look to thicken the sauce with some potatoe flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I tried this exactly as written and thought it was pretty good. However I like my own recipe a tad better which is similar but not the same. Mine is similar to alot of other reviewers who made changes to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Delicious! I used broth instead of water and added sliced smoked sausage and spinach. Next time I'll leave out the salt too, I think the broth had enough. Delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Good flavor and easy to fix. I left out the tomatoes and added more potato which is just what we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was tasty-great for a cold night. I don't use bouillon, so I used 2 cups chicken broth, 2 cups vegetable broth, & 4 cups water ;) I misread the recipe and added plain diced tomatoes by mistake, but countered it by adding 1 tsp Italian seasoning (1/2 with the salt & pepper, 1/2 with the tomatoes). The flavor was great, especially with a little Parmesan a baguette. But it's not filling enough for a full meal-I calculated that 2 cups is only 160 calories :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I added carrots to this recipe as well as a few more spices. I make this in a HUGE pot and freeze the leftovers for lunches for a month - I never get tired of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GemCourtJD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Couldn't keep the family out of the soup pot. This was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosesonata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 603) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States