Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I am sure this soup is perfect the way it is, but I used it as a base for a bigger soup. Added a jalapeno for the flavor, carrot, potato, celery, zucchini, red and green bell pepper. Used chicken broth instead of water. Along with salt and pepper, added some red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper, and a little bit of chardonnay for flavor. Turned out to be delicious!!! Wife and Father loved it, I loved it. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I added a 1/2 cup of brown rice. I also used pre-shredded cabbage since that's all Trader Joe's had! It worked and it was very delicious, but I want to use big chunks of cabbage next time. I love it when I get that earthy cabbage taste- but you need it in big chunks to get that I think.. I also used like 8 cloves of garlic because I love garlic. Yummy!!! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I've never made cabbage soup before. It was my son's idea to make cabbage soup. And since he doesn't eat many veggies, we had to make it! I made it as it was written. Except he wanted to add some carrots and green beans and I had some fresh mushrooms to use up. It was SO good. My son ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I added a tablespoon of cider vinegar, sprinkle of red chile flakes, diced carrots and some breakfast left over bacon. I am fighting a head cold and this really helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was great! And so simple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I thought the soup was delicious, but only after I altered it a bit. Even though I used 28 oz herbed & spiced diced tomatoes (with the juice) I still found the soup bland. So I added onion powder, chili powder, crushed red chili peppers, italian seasoning and more chicken bouillon powder. Only then did I find it tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Excellent. Added leftover veggies (peas, limas), and kielbasa and 1/2 pound of hamburger. Also some additional spices as others have mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gdrescher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This recipe was fantastic and flavorful (I added a few extra seasonings mentioned by other reviewers)! I needed a way to use up leftover cabbage, but in the future I think I will buy cabbage for the purpose of making this soup. Love that you can throw in carrots, celery, or other vegetables you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Awesome anytime. I add zucchini and/or spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I really liked this recipe, but I read over the other reviews and made a few changes and additions. I used olive oil cooking spray at the beginning to saute the onions and garlic. I also only had the bullion cubes so I just added 4 of those for the 8 cups of water to make it with chicken stock. I added about a teaspoon of Italian seasoning and a pinch of cayenne pepper. I also had leftover some leftover kidney beans so just threw them in and it was a great touch! Even my boyfriend who does not like veggie soups ate it all and more. Some hamburger would be nice in it too I think but still a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 626) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States