Healing Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
WOW!!! I had some leftover cabbage from cabbage rolls and made this instead of throwing it out like I often do... this recipe is a permanent new addition to my cabbage roll nights! The cabbage was frozen (for cabbage rolls) but I thought it worked very well for the soup. I just eyed out the amount of pepper and I may have added more than called for but I found the pepper overwhelmed the soup a bit so I will cut back next time (my boyfriend disagreed but he loves peppery food) So delicious and healthy/guilt free to eat. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Made this tonight. Didn't have the onion so I used onion flakes. Also added carrots and celery like the old awesome weight loss soup recipe. It turned out just perfect. My boyfriend and I decided we wouldn't change a thing. The broth was awesome by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOODCOOKERMOM
Home Town: Clarksdale, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Everyone in my family loves this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I was honestly hesitant about this soup. It seemed really basic and I figured it wouldn't be all that great. I WAS WRONG! This soup turned out really delicious! It was a great way to use up the cabbage in my fridge. I added an extra teaspoon of garlic, celery, and carrots, all of which I sauteed in the beginning with the onions. I also added about 2 tsp. of Italian seasoning and an extra tsp of black pepper. YUMMY! This is great since it is all veggies, it worked out great for my Weight Watchers points!! WOO HOO! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Loved this soup! I made some of the changes suggested by other reviewers so my recipe looked more like this: 2 Tbsp. olive oil 1 onion, chopped 2 cloves garlic, chopped 48 oz. organic low-sodium chicken broth 1 tsp. salt 1 tsp. pepper 3/4 large head of cabbage, cored and coarsely chopped 14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes with liquid water to cover contents Delicious reheated as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
ALWAYS always taste and add spices to your liking ,canned tomatoes in soups always require a touch of sugar to lessen the bitter flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Great as is. Simple, low effort to make this while cooking up your main dish at the same time. Good flavor. Low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winnetka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NMCookie
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
My husband just happens to be down with a cold this morning and I was looking for a soup recipe that wasn't the standard chicken noodle, since he's not too keen on chicken. I'm so glad I found this recipe! We love cabbage and since it's the day after St. Patrick's day, I had some on hand. After all, soup is about using what you have in your fridge and pantry. I wanted to fill this soup with as much nutrition as possible, so in addition to cabbage, I added a few handfuls of chopped kale, chopped carrot, oregano, thyme (which is excellent for respiratory issues), took the advice of other reviewers and added a dash of cayenne and some red pepper flakes. Since they have great healing properties I increased the onion and garlic. I didn't have any stewed tomatoes, so I used fire roasted diced tomatoes instead. Toward the end of cooking I threw in a small amount of elbow noodles that needed to be used up and for protein, added dark red kidney beans. I cooked it all in low sodium (from Trader Joe's) organic chicken broth and then added some more water and Better Than Bouillon Organic Chicken Base. It tastes amazing and I expect it to be even better tomorrow. Thanks, JGCase, for a great cabbage soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Since St Patricks Day is tomorrow, my market had cabbage on sale for 19 cents a head. I didn't have the tomatoes, but I had a can or organic tomato soup. Added a couple of pinches of cayenne pepper, a sprinkle of soy sauce, a splash of apple cider vinegar and a can of black beans. Best soup I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrazyDaisyDuke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Colonia, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I didn't read the directions correctly--only added 1 quart of water. DIDN'T MISS the other quart. I threw in 4 carrots because I needed to use 'em up. Other than that I stuck to the rest of the recipe. YUMMERZ! Think I'll add corned beef next time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ruby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States