Hazelnut-Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was really good! I noticed that a lot of people were using other nuts but I really recommend the hazelnuts if you can find them. They're delicious and add a really nice fall flavor to the dish. My husband and I ate this as a main dish so we doubled the onions and mushrooms to make it heartier and used veggie broth instead of chicken and served it with a side of roasted squash. Next time I'll double the recipe so we have more leftovers. Delicious for so few ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Fantastic. I used pecans instead of hazelnuts, which were great, I'll try almonds next time. This was easy and fast, great weeknight side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greykitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havre, Montana, USA
Living In: Sunnyside, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I loved this! I left out the celery and the marjoram (didn't have any), and used slivered almonds instead of hazelnuts. The rice was still pretty crunchy, and I'm not sure if that's supposed to happen? Or maybe I used the wrong kind... either way it was REALLY good! April 14th, 2009: Made it again with a different kind of rice.. and yes I must have used the wrong kind last time. This time I left out nuts (didn't have any) and used beef broth instead. Again left out the celery and marjoram. I like it better with the beef broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Vitcusky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This was really very good. Used beef broth instead of chicken because I was serving it with beef and used toasted sliced almonds instead of hazelnuts. Also didn't have any mushrooms so just left them out. Husband really liked it. Think I'd like it as written also. Will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This recipe was REALLY good! Perfect amount of seasoning. I omitted the hazelnuts,stirred in fresh baby spinach and parmesan cheese right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was so great! I made it for Father's Day when I had my family meet my finace's family, so I was nervous about the meal. It was so good that my gormet cook grandma even loved it. Everyone had seconds and thirds. I made it with slivered almonds instead of hazelnuts as I prefer them. This will be a regular at my house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
We loved this recipe. I used slivered almonds instead of hazelnuts, because that's what we prefer. Otherwise made the recipe as it is submitted. It was great! I made it to take to another house so I actually added a little more broth, because I knew it would stay moister that way!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This recipe is amazing! I have made it several times, and even though I didn't have hazelnuts, I used almonds and it was fantastic! I doubled the mushrooms and onions because we love them! Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria Williams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bear River City, Utah, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I LOVE IT!!! SUCH BUTTERY MUSHROOMY GOODNESS!!!! And it's SO EASY to make!!! I'll DEFINATELY make this again....it's my new favorite side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Very good side dish and easy to make. I served it to company and all went back for seconds. I used roasted slivered almonds instead of hazelnuts because it was what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States