Hazelnut-Mushroom Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
made it exactly like recipe. It was awesome and very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
this was delicious. the perfect recipe to use up the small amount of orzo i had left. i used lemon pepper for the seasoning. good with Tilapia Parmesan and Stewed Squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This is a great recipe, even if I didn't have all the ingredients. I doubled the rice in place of orzo and skipped the mushrooms because we were out, and added garlic. Don't forget the garlic! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite Falls, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Good stuff! Though I'd love to try it without so much butter! I cooked it 10 minutes longer because it was so crunchy, but that didn't take away all the crunch. I guess pilafs are supposed to be crunchy. Didn't use any hazelnuts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This was really good. Definitely a keeper. Changes: I ended up halving the butter and cutting in hazelnut oil, since I had it on hand and I didn't have any hazelnuts. Couldn't really taste the hazelnut though. I think I might try it again with only hazelnut oil. I also substituted the marjoram with oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoosePhysh

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Good recipe but need to work with it. I will try without butter next time (too heavy) and try longer cooking time (was a lot of liquid left).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Fabulous! The hazelnuts flavored the pilaf beautifully. This goes perfectly with salmon (particularly if the salmon is seasoned with Paul Prouhomme's Magic Salmon Seasoning). I made it for my mom and my husband; my mom asked for the recipe and my husband asked me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I really loved the nuts in this. I did not have hazelnuts, but I toasted up some almonds and they worked great. The flavor in this reminded me a bit of a Thanksgiving stuffing. Perhaps because of the celery. I added a couple pinches of Kosher salt before bringing it to a boil and I'm glad I did. I will make this again, and also experiment with it. Using chicken broth and nuts is a great idea. In case you don't have marjoram on hand and really want to make this, oregano is a stronger flavored cousin of marjoram, so you can substitute and use oregano, but just a bit less than the called for amount of marjoram, about a 3:2 ratio marjoram:oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Wonderful rice! I've made this 3 times. Twice I used almonds because I can't find hazelnuts at the grocery. It is a crunchy dish with the almonds and I like it better without. You do need to keep the measurements for the rice, pasta, and chicken broth the same but you can be really messy with the vegetables and spices. Its a really excellent savory dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I have made this several times already, this time without the hazelnuts.We prefer it without the nuts. I also like to dice or more like mince up my mushrooms,onion, celery all the same size. Very good side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States