Hazelnut Melting Moments Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I just made these, and am very pleased. They're exactly what I was looking for. A few tips: this is a basic thumbprint dough. The addition of the hazelnuts makes it dry enough that you can use a whole egg, not just the yolk. This saves time and waste, and had no ill effect on the cookies. Also, there's no need to completely melt the chips. If you put a few into each indentation while still on the pan, they will melt and you can then smooth them a bit with a spoon. Simpler this way. Overall, a very satisfying way to use up hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I thought this recipe was really good, will make again, no doubt. Getting Christmas plates made and this made a great centerpiece with the beautiful chocolate filled cavity. Yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corina Niedzella-Zechel
Home Town: Heilbronn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Instead of chocolate chips, use a high-quality dark chocolate, and add 1 tsp of vegetable oil to it after you have melted it. Chocolate chips don't have the best texture after they are melted. These are one of the first cookies to disappear from my cookie trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dessert Crazy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lansdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
wont make again. not enough flavor. careful with the lemon a little goes a long way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Great recipe. But the dough is on the dry side. I had to add a bit of milk to get the dough to stick together better to create balls. I also used melted milk chocolate instead of semisweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was a wonderful little cookie! The nutty flavor of the cookie went so well with the chocolate center. Many reviewers commented that the dough was difficult to work with. So, I made sure my butter was super soft by leaving it on the counter for several hours and had no problems working with the dough. I think soft butter really is key. Also, instead of using a spoon, I put my melted chocolate in a baggie and snipped the corner to make a makeshift pastry bag. This made filling the cookies much faster and cleaner. Awesome recipe. My 3-year-old would have eaten them all if I let him :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
really good taste like nuttela , a good recipe to do with the kids esp when pouring the choco into the middle bet they will love to clean the rest of the chocolate. at first i kinda worry at if will be very brittle but after putting on the top of the oven for a few minutes to cool they harden up nicely. i like them more as they are, without any choco since i'm not a choco lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hime12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anjelikka
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Great Cookie...I added a little bit of water to make the dough more manageable...this helped when rolling the dough into balls...I also used milk-chocolate morsels....yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjelikka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Giessen, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Excellent recipe! The only problem I came across was the texture of the dough. It was a little difficult to work with. However, they taste great once they are finished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I modified this recipe to make hazelnut cookies for Passover. They turned out delicious! I used 3/4 cup oil instead of the butter, added 1/2 teaspoon salt, increased the hazelnuts to 2 1/2 cups (I had bags of already ground hazelnuts), used 1 1/2 cups potato starch (no flour, of course), and used one whole egg. I also used raw honey rather than sugar, but I'm sure my modified recipe would work fine with sugar too. I did not make a filling, as I just wanted plain hazelnut cookies. The cookies spread out a lot, so if you make them this way, leave plenty of room between them. They came out beautifully, and everyone loved them! They tasted like gourmet cookies rather than Passover cookies. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States