Hazelnut Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Simply lovely. They are tender, favorful and will be a welcome addition to my scone collection. The family will love this for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by komalishungry
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I'm munching on these delicious scones right now, quite happy with my first attempt at making them. Like many of the reviews said to do, I cut the almond extract down to 1/2 teaspoon. I didn't have hazelnuts so I left those out but I did add about 1/2 tablespoon of Nutella and wow!! so worth it. I also didn't have buttermilk so I put 1/2 tablespoon in a 1/2 measuring cup and filled the rest with half-and-half and I think that was fine. Yum! Will make again, maybe with hazelnuts or dried cranberries next time. I saw an episode of Desperate Housewives where Marcia Cross made these kind of scones with currants--maybe I'll try it with those next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
These turned out really dry for me. Still in search of the perfect scone recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
i made these this morning and they were wonderful. i did make a few changes due to the reviews i read. i used vanilla carmel non dairy creamer instead of the buttermilk and i add 4tbsp of chocolate hazelnut spread when i cut in the butter. the hazelnut flavor was fantastic i think in part because of the spread. i will definately make these again.YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ljdmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algoma, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I thought these tasted good. I knew when I seen 1 1/2 tsp of almond extract it was way too much! I ended up using only 1/2 tsp. The scones still had a slight strong almond extract smell and taste to me. I probably should have done a scant 1/2 tsp. I thought it was a lot of chocolate to, as I don't normally think of scones as being that sweet or rich. I think the chocolate chips would be better reduced. I would have like to have tried just using mini chocolate chips. It may have seemed like less. To make the circle I just traced a 9" cake pan on parchment and flipped it over. Overall, these are very fast to make and they really are the scone version of a chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
My dough was not sticky at all...my scones were done in about 14 minutes. Maybe I made a mistake. I think I accidentially left out the brown sugar. They tasted like biscuits and had the same texture- dry and crumbly. I shaped them into hearts for Valentine's Day by putting a glob of dough inside a cookie cutter on the baking sheet and smushing it out into the shape. If I make these again, I hope they'll be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
They turned out fine, I just didn't like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Great recipe. Followed it pretty closely. Changed the buttermilk to vanilla coffee creamer - and learned how to shell walnuts along the way! Make sure that you chop up the hazelnuts so they spread throughout the scone. Not too sweet. Great with milk or some hot coffee :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I just made these and they are going fast. I made a few, minor changes. Substituted margarine for the butter, and sliced almonds for the hazelnuts. We like that these aren't too sweet, which I think is typical of a scone vs a cookie. The only problem I had was with the pre-cutting step. It was going to make a huge mess, so when they were done and while they were still warm, I punched straight down repeatedly with a silicon spatula to cut instead of trying to drag a knife across. Made a pretty clean cut that way. Quick way to satisfy a cookie craving and great with a cup of coffee. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
These were very good. I didn't have hazelnuts so I used pecans. I had to bake them a little longer than stated but nonetheless, they were wonderful. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wahoo, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States