Hazelnut Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
very tender and d'lish. used almonds instead of hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I tweaked this recipe a bit. There was no way that I would be able to fry the chicken breasts in so little butter, so I did a mix of 1/2 butter and 1/2 grapeseed oil. I used panko breadcrumbs instead of regular breadcrumbs and also ran the filberts (hazelnuts) throught the blender. I added 1/4 tsp EACH thyme, oregano, and garlic powder to the panko breading. I butterflied the chicken breast and lightly pounded them thinner. This is a great recipe for special dinners or for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I doubled the sauce. Lighting in halves to control the flame. For the brandy I used American Honey by Wild Turkey 71 proof and I double theFrangelico. I was concerned about the sweetness but it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This recipe is incredible! I have made it several times for family dinner parties, and it has become everyone's favorite. My guests now excitedly congregate in the kitchen to watch the blue flames! Like others, I have added more mushrooms and doubled (sometimes tripled) the sauce. Adding the liqueurs little by little is smart so that you can be sure the alcohol burns off and has no aftertaste, in addition to avoiding huge flames. Having made it the first time with naked Turkish hazelnuts I'd brought back from Istanbul, I was scared to try them with the skins on (all I could find in the US grocery store). It turned out perfectly and really just added more color to the nut breading! This was a brilliant idea for a meal and never disappoints. Even if you're not one to enjoy a sweet taste with your meat, it's subtle enough to be appreciated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carleton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I liked this recipe. It creates a very hazelnutty flavor. I think that a little flavor could be added by adding something to the bread crumb mixture. Maybe poultry seasoning or lemon pepper or paprika. I'm not sure. As it is, you definitely get a chicken dish that tastes strongly of hazelnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I loved this recipe but BEWARE. I followed the suggestions to double the sauce, but don't do it all at once, because I had a flame up to my ceiling! I never used brandy, so I am lucky I still have eyebrows! Add the brandy a little at a time, and let it burn off. This tastes excellent, and looks a lot more difficult than it is. I used the same recipe on Salmon (no breading, just the hazelnuts) and i loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Yummy...I really liked the nuts mixed in with the breadcrumbs. I am glad I used the advice of other reviewers and used less frangelico, as it was still a ery sweet taste even with the lesser amount of liquor. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is so good, impressive, and very easy. I'm going to make this on Thanksgiving eve--the beautiful blue flames and the tasty sauce will be a big hit. Two suggestions: double the sauce and serve with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This was delicious.! I will make again. Double the sauce as others suggested and perhaps cook more mushrooms, otherwise DO NOT CHANGE A THING. Don't skimp on the quality of the alcohol, it will make a difference. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It is a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Mushroom Chicken Piccata

Mushrooms take classic chicken piccata to new heights of flavor.

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States