Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
this is really good, I ate a lot of it on night shift at a florida hospital, it really sticks with you, till morning. TRY IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Great Recipe as people can leave off anything they do not like. I use canned Hormal Vegetarian chili instead of beans and even the non-vegetarians don't know they are eating a vegetarian dish. I also use diced Avocado as an option, but not the carrots or green peppers. I also make a dressing for it using mayo and salsa as I don't like sour cream, but I have sour cream for those how like it. Thats whats great about a haystack, you can add anything that sounds good to you. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I make this a lot. And I mean, A LOT. I use black beans that I've cooked myself, homemade taco seasoning, and sometimes I'll add shredded carrots in with the bean mixture. You can really make this stretch with a can of tomato sauce, a drained can of mexi-corn, Rotel tomatoes and a half pound of ground beef, if you have heavyweights at your table or just a lot of family to feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
A quick and tasty meal, Tom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This is a fun and easy company dinner. It is a great meal to serve a large group and everyone enjoys building their own salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
I was wondering if anyone had submitted this--I was if you hadn't!! Anyway, we had this all of the time growing up, and it can be changed around for variety or made even quicker. Some variations are to use canned mexican-style beans or cooked and seasoned lentils or black-eyed peas; add cooked rice, sunflower seeds--whatever you like on salads or tacos seems to go on this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, Texas, USA
Living In: Clifton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I, too, grew up loving this recipe. It was a favorite for church socials and large casual get togethers. I have not seen it done with green peppers and carrots, however, and will have to try it that way soon! Even my non-vegetarian husband loves this fun and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
It was really different but it was easy to do during the week while I am going to college.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I have used this recipe many times, especially a great recipe for large gatherings. For those wanting a more healthier version,I also offer the choice of rice in addition to the corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I love haystacks!! I think it must be an Adventist thing. ;) For those that really miss their meat: TVP (textured vegetable protein) reconstituted and then cooked with taco seasoning is a really good alternative! We usually serve it with that, and minus the carrot. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States