Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I make this a lot. And I mean, A LOT. I use black beans that I've cooked myself, homemade taco seasoning, and sometimes I'll add shredded carrots in with the bean mixture. You can really make this stretch with a can of tomato sauce, a drained can of mexi-corn, Rotel tomatoes and a half pound of ground beef, if you have heavyweights at your table or just a lot of family to feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
These were okay, but we missed the beef we thought should be here. This was basically a vegetarian taco salad. 3 stars as written, maybe with taco meat, half as many beans, (Ranch style preferred) some crisp corn, and a little more heat/spice... but a very versatile recipe and can be adjusted to your own liking. This would be great when camping out. A great base to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Haystacks have been my favorite recipe since I was a kid (I still request them for my birthday suppers) - We use a good chili instead of just beans and also sometimes put guacamole, ranch dressing, pickles, onions and many other toppings. There are no limits. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
this is a classic recipe to have on hand!! Sometimes I crave the tastes and crunchiness! SLR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
this is really good, I ate a lot of it on night shift at a florida hospital, it really sticks with you, till morning. TRY IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
Kids are crazy about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This is a fun and easy company dinner. It is a great meal to serve a large group and everyone enjoys building their own salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
A quick and tasty meal, Tom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
One of many who grew up on this as an Adventist. I don't eat it with carrot, but it does work with pretty much anything you happen to have on hand. I find that regular corn chips (fritos) work a lot better than tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Great Recipe as people can leave off anything they do not like. I use canned Hormal Vegetarian chili instead of beans and even the non-vegetarians don't know they are eating a vegetarian dish. I also use diced Avocado as an option, but not the carrots or green peppers. I also make a dressing for it using mayo and salsa as I don't like sour cream, but I have sour cream for those how like it. Thats whats great about a haystack, you can add anything that sounds good to you. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States