Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I make this a lot. And I mean, A LOT. I use black beans that I've cooked myself, homemade taco seasoning, and sometimes I'll add shredded carrots in with the bean mixture. You can really make this stretch with a can of tomato sauce, a drained can of mexi-corn, Rotel tomatoes and a half pound of ground beef, if you have heavyweights at your table or just a lot of family to feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Haystacks have been my favorite recipe since I was a kid (I still request them for my birthday suppers) - We use a good chili instead of just beans and also sometimes put guacamole, ranch dressing, pickles, onions and many other toppings. There are no limits. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
These were okay, but we missed the beef we thought should be here. This was basically a vegetarian taco salad. 3 stars as written, maybe with taco meat, half as many beans, (Ranch style preferred) some crisp corn, and a little more heat/spice... but a very versatile recipe and can be adjusted to your own liking. This would be great when camping out. A great base to start with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
this is a classic recipe to have on hand!! Sometimes I crave the tastes and crunchiness! SLR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
this is really good, I ate a lot of it on night shift at a florida hospital, it really sticks with you, till morning. TRY IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
Kids are crazy about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This is a fun and easy company dinner. It is a great meal to serve a large group and everyone enjoys building their own salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
A quick and tasty meal, Tom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
One of many who grew up on this as an Adventist. I don't eat it with carrot, but it does work with pretty much anything you happen to have on hand. I find that regular corn chips (fritos) work a lot better than tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Great Recipe as people can leave off anything they do not like. I use canned Hormal Vegetarian chili instead of beans and even the non-vegetarians don't know they are eating a vegetarian dish. I also use diced Avocado as an option, but not the carrots or green peppers. I also make a dressing for it using mayo and salsa as I don't like sour cream, but I have sour cream for those how like it. Thats whats great about a haystack, you can add anything that sounds good to you. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States