Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
Kids are crazy about this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
this is a classic recipe to have on hand!! Sometimes I crave the tastes and crunchiness! SLR
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
A quick and tasty meal, Tom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This is a fun and easy company dinner. It is a great meal to serve a large group and everyone enjoys building their own salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
this is really good, I ate a lot of it on night shift at a florida hospital, it really sticks with you, till morning. TRY IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
I was wondering if anyone had submitted this--I was if you hadn't!! Anyway, we had this all of the time growing up, and it can be changed around for variety or made even quicker. Some variations are to use canned mexican-style beans or cooked and seasoned lentils or black-eyed peas; add cooked rice, sunflower seeds--whatever you like on salads or tacos seems to go on this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, Texas, USA
Living In: Clifton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I, too, grew up loving this recipe. It was a favorite for church socials and large casual get togethers. I have not seen it done with green peppers and carrots, however, and will have to try it that way soon! Even my non-vegetarian husband loves this fun and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Haystacks have been my favorite recipe since I was a kid (I still request them for my birthday suppers) - We use a good chili instead of just beans and also sometimes put guacamole, ranch dressing, pickles, onions and many other toppings. There are no limits. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Our family didn't really care for this, but was worth trying :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESS1451

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Great Recipe as people can leave off anything they do not like. I use canned Hormal Vegetarian chili instead of beans and even the non-vegetarians don't know they are eating a vegetarian dish. I also use diced Avocado as an option, but not the carrots or green peppers. I also make a dressing for it using mayo and salsa as I don't like sour cream, but I have sour cream for those how like it. Thats whats great about a haystack, you can add anything that sounds good to you. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States