Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I followed others suggestions and used ranch beans added a can of mexi-corn and used spinach instead of letus. Everyone loved it and really how great is a recipe that let's you get 5 veggies and a fruit onto your kids plate at one time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I've eaten this meal since I was little. Its an "old standard" at church potlucks in my denomination. Instead of kidney beans, we use refried beans smoothed down with a little water or chili. It is basically taco fillings on chips. Our favorite chips are Fritos smashed up a little. However you like your tacos, just flattened out. In fact, growing up we called them "Plate Tacos".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
One of many who grew up on this as an Adventist. I don't eat it with carrot, but it does work with pretty much anything you happen to have on hand. I find that regular corn chips (fritos) work a lot better than tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I love haystacks!! I think it must be an Adventist thing. ;) For those that really miss their meat: TVP (textured vegetable protein) reconstituted and then cooked with taco seasoning is a really good alternative! We usually serve it with that, and minus the carrot. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I have used this recipe many times, especially a great recipe for large gatherings. For those wanting a more healthier version,I also offer the choice of rice in addition to the corn chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I make this a lot. And I mean, A LOT. I use black beans that I've cooked myself, homemade taco seasoning, and sometimes I'll add shredded carrots in with the bean mixture. You can really make this stretch with a can of tomato sauce, a drained can of mexi-corn, Rotel tomatoes and a half pound of ground beef, if you have heavyweights at your table or just a lot of family to feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Like others, my family is not really into kidney beans so I eliminated one of the cans and then browned some ground beef and mixed in a can of mild green chili peppers. It's virtually a augmented taco salad. It was good, but nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Wilder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Valley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
There are lots of things that could be layered onto these. We loved Pepper Jack cheese and jalapenos for a kick. This is a great, versatile recipe, and a great meal to throw together in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this recipe in a pinch since we had all of the ingredients in the house. We used sliced spinach instead of lettuce. I also mixed in a can of condensed cheese soup with the beans. It was so good! Quick and easy but packs a lot of protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyWife3-4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I love the meatless concept, but my family prefers good old taco salad with the spiced hamburger and doritos. I would have given it four stars for being fairly healthy, but it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States