Haystacks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
these are great you load your table with lots of different things then stack them up I also put chilli and cheese sauce out with this to put on top and meat these are really fun enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
It's sometimes very satisfying to return to the tastes of the 1970's. Back in those days, we were just married and establishing our culinary skills. I used to make tacos, just like this with mashed up kidney beans and the usual toppings. We really enjoyed them then, and we still do! This is easier than the taco shells that used to break as soon as one bit into them. The taste evokes the memories of that time. All those fresh veggie toppings are still very healthy and the fact this is a veggie alternative is very good, especially as we approach our more senior years. This dish is going back into our dinner time routine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Annapolis Valley, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
easy to make...and kids loved it...but its way too salty if you follow instructions...i cut salt by over 50% and it was plenty flavorfull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Sooo goooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made this recipe as a light meal. I had some left over taco meat that I wanted to use up and only had 1 can of kidney beans and 1 can of chili beans, i threw all this in a pot and let them simmmer on low for 45 minutes. I put it all together as stated, let me tell you what a filling and amazing meal. I couldn't even finish mine. I got rave reviews from my husband and 13 year old (the most picky eater ever). This recipe is a permanet in our dinner rotation, THANK YOU for a great new recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I grew up in Adventist circles and this was the dish that most non adventists said, "Hay *what?*" when mentioning it. I enjoyed just about every variation there is. Most Adventists are vegetarian so they don't usually eat beef, but I've added beef to it for the benefit of those who like it. I prefer nachos with melted cheese but these make a great travelable salad and a hit at potlucks any day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycarbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I thought this was really good, but I added ground beef to it. I think it would have been too plain with just the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLS38

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
These were very good... kinda like a taco salad, but with corn chips. My kids loved them and I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
5 stars for how quick, cheap, & somewhat healthy this is. We really enjoyed it over fritos. Lots of romaine & veggies. Would work well with ranch dressing as well. We will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I followed others suggestions and used ranch beans added a can of mexi-corn and used spinach instead of letus. Everyone loved it and really how great is a recipe that let's you get 5 veggies and a fruit onto your kids plate at one time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States