Haystacks II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
We make these every Christmas. We add a little more butterscotch chips than semi sweet chips. We also use less chow mien noodles (maybe 20 oz. instead of the 25 oz.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Spencerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
My husband LOVES butterscotch, and these are some of his favorites! I made these and put them in my Christmas Goodie Bags. They are a fab addition to lots of cookies and chocolate, quick and easy to make. I melt my butterscotch in a metal bowl atop a pot of boiling water (double boiler) and i make sure the water is simmering only. if it is boiling and the water is touching the bowl you have it up TOO HIGH. Constantly stir until your chips are melted and them dump the rest of the ingredients and stir. The tricky part is probably forming them onto the cookie sheet with parchment paper....just use two spoons and push them onto the tray yummy and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatalieMarie731

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Loveland, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This recipe brought back wonderful memories for myself and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This recipe is so easy and is great for getting my kids involved in cooking. I omitted the peanuts b/c my daughter is severly allergic to them. I added a few more ounces of chow mein noodles to the chocolate and butterscotch to take the place of the peanuts. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frannie916

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I only add 1/2 C of the peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
YUM!! I've made these a few times; now I'm craving them again! My family loves them; I make them the same way except I usually don't add peanuts...and I call mine "BEAVER DAMS"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barre, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I love the combination of the chocolate and butterscotch.. YUM!! I had these over the holidays - went searching for the recipe and have been eating these WAY too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gagetown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
With just slight differences in amounts, this easy and delicious little no-bake treat has been on my Christmas Cookie Plate for close to 30 years. I use 18 ozs. of chocolate chips, a 12 oz. pkg. butterscotch chips, 5-6 ozs. chow mein noodles (4 cups) and 6-8 ozs. of peanuts (1-1/2 cups). A sentimental favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was my first time making haystacks and they turned out perfectly. My family loved them. The recipie was very easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Cantonment, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
These are an old family favorite of mine, but I didn't know the recipe, and this one matched almost perfectly. I use 4 cups butterscotch chips, no chocolate, as that's how my family always did it, but I'm sure they'd be just as good with chocolate, too. Great for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States