Haystacks I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I put 2 of them in saran wrap, secured them with red ribbon and a tag thanking them for coming. I am going to be giving them out along with a Christmas card as they leave my “Champagne and Homemade Desserts Soiree " we are hosting this Sunday. All of the recipes came from Allrecipes. I will definately be reporting back on Monday on my guests reactions. This is one of those recipes that with supervision is a wonderful opportunity to bake with your children. It is a guaranteed winner! I grew up calling these "Chocolate Hermits". Has anyone else heard them called that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Made it without the nuts and I had a bunch of dry mix left that I couldn't get to stick. Will have to eat remaining with spoon. Otherwise very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I left out the peanuts, and they're the exact same treat I remember from when I was a kid. Yummy, and fun and easy to make. My kids love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Pirate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Great recipe and sooo easy! The only changes I made were omitting the coconut and I added about a tablespoon or so of peanut butter like a previous review recommended. Make sure if you leave the coconut out you add a bit more oats. These were all gone the next day, and I've already been asked to make a second batch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I've made these twice. The first I followed the recipe exact, but the second I cooked the cocoa mixture for too long and they turned out crumbly. Definitely only boil for 1 min. But a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjennamichele

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This recipes was great they taste just like I remember as a kid. I ommited the peanuts and added more coconut though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Buckle
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
these were very good my boyfriend and our friends really enjoy these. one suggestion maybe a bit less butter, and instead of 1/3 cup of cocoa powder i added 1/4 cup it makes them a bit darker and i like the chocolate taste i will be making these again and again. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Made these and noone in my family liked them. They didn't have a chocolate flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terra Alta, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I substituted 1/2 cup peanut butter for the peanuts and melted the peanut butter with the wet ingredients. It turned out excellent. It reminded me of the no-bakes my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Bakes

See how to make a simple chocolate, peanut butter, and oatmeal cookie.

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States