Haystacks I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I put 2 of them in saran wrap, secured them with red ribbon and a tag thanking them for coming. I am going to be giving them out along with a Christmas card as they leave my “Champagne and Homemade Desserts Soiree " we are hosting this Sunday. All of the recipes came from Allrecipes. I will definately be reporting back on Monday on my guests reactions. This is one of those recipes that with supervision is a wonderful opportunity to bake with your children. It is a guaranteed winner! I grew up calling these "Chocolate Hermits". Has anyone else heard them called that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Made it without the nuts and I had a bunch of dry mix left that I couldn't get to stick. Will have to eat remaining with spoon. Otherwise very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I left out the peanuts, and they're the exact same treat I remember from when I was a kid. Yummy, and fun and easy to make. My kids love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Pirate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Great recipe and sooo easy! The only changes I made were omitting the coconut and I added about a tablespoon or so of peanut butter like a previous review recommended. Make sure if you leave the coconut out you add a bit more oats. These were all gone the next day, and I've already been asked to make a second batch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I've made these twice. The first I followed the recipe exact, but the second I cooked the cocoa mixture for too long and they turned out crumbly. Definitely only boil for 1 min. But a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjennamichele

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
This recipes was great they taste just like I remember as a kid. I ommited the peanuts and added more coconut though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Buckle
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
these were very good my boyfriend and our friends really enjoy these. one suggestion maybe a bit less butter, and instead of 1/3 cup of cocoa powder i added 1/4 cup it makes them a bit darker and i like the chocolate taste i will be making these again and again. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Made these and noone in my family liked them. They didn't have a chocolate flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladylace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terra Alta, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I substituted 1/2 cup peanut butter for the peanuts and melted the peanut butter with the wet ingredients. It turned out excellent. It reminded me of the no-bakes my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ddavis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States