Hawkeye Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I also used onion soup mix instead of the onion powder. I have now made this several times. It is wonderful! Very tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this today. It came out delicious! I rubbed the spices into the pork, then seared it in a frying pan. Added sliced onions to the top and put it in the oven. When it was done cooking I covered it with aluminum foil and let it rest for about 15 minutes. I did add a small amount of water to the bottom of the pan and mixed up the juices to make a light, simple, but tasty broth. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This was wonderful! I cooked it in an oven bag, and used the idea of another reviewer by using onion soup mix in place of the onion powder. Everything else as directed in the recipe. Just great and really simple....Thanks much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
fantastic. this is very easy and extremely flavorful. makes for great leftover cold sandwiches. also makes great tasting gravy. will make many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I have been cooking pork roast for years but always seems to have it turn out dry. This recipe has ended my search. I made it exactly as the recipe is stated. I put it in my roaster and added a bit of water. Put the lid on popped it in the oven for 90 minutes and it was the best ever. Moist and so flavorful! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
easy. i used 1/2 the seasonings and it came out good. try Lipton Onion soup mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I live in Iowa and when I saw this recipe on The RecipeBuzz last week I had to try it! Go Hawks! I've made this twice this week. The first time with beef roast in a slow cooker, and the second time with a pork roast on top of the stove in an enameled cast iron roaster. BOTH times my husband said it was the best roast he'd ever had, and I have to agree. I wish I'd come across this sooner. He even took the rest of the pork roast to work today and he HATES leftovers!!!!! I will never make a pork roast any other way, ever. As for beef, I will use this but sometimes I also like beef roast in au jus with onions, carrots etc,. So I may slide once in a while on beef...but otherwise...this IS THE recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
It's been 3 hours since we ate supper and my family is still talking about how good this was! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
We really liked this. The meat was moist and tender. I watched temperature carefully and didn't let it go over 160 degrees. I added sea salt and some Mrs. Dash's seasoning to the rub. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coshocton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
made this for dinner today on 2/10/11 and it is so so good and it falls apart and melts in your mouth i was looking for a good pork roast recipe and now i found one this one is a keeper thank you so much. I made this a meal in one and added baby new potatoes,carrots,onions and celery. even my fussy boyfriend liked it and gave this 4 stars. The only thing i did do differnt was add a little bit of water to it to help keep it most and cooked it at 350 for 90 minutes for a 1.23 lb roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alishia Marie Toth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States