Hawaiian Wedding Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Love it! Don't be scared to pour the crushed pineapple and juice over the top (s) of the cake. I made a multilayer so I split the can in half, poured the first half over the first layer with the holes, then put some of the whipped topping on top of that. Then I did the same with the top and added the second half of the pineapple. I let that sit overnight and the next day I put the rest of the whipped topping g over the entire cake as I was traveling. Next time. Everyone loved it! Next time, I will use a Butter cake mix as someone suggested in the reviews to elevate it to another level. The topping: follow the recipe exactly. I read someone said it was watery? I think I they followed the Jell-O recipe instead of the cake recipe. When you mix the milk, the Jell-O will be pretty thick. Then when you add the cool whip, it thins it out a little and gives the topping a nice flavor. I did a vanilla and a coconut Jell-O together. Just in case there were any coconut haters, it wouldn't be so overwhelming. But just follow the recipe, it's tried and true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Fantastic and I din't even use the topping! This was gobbled up in a day by the family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Venisha Simpson
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
It's great if you mix a little bit of the pineapple juice into the frosting and drizzle the juice over the cake before you top it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
This recipe was some what good. You can taste the pineapple and the coconut, but don't bake it for too long, it is hard to cut. It was also too sweet. I paired it with cool whip and took played down on the sweetness. Otherwise it was easy and fast to prepare. I gave it four, for taste and effort. Still got to work on rise on the cake, a cake has to rise from its shape, its consistency was more like a bar. Taste was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahaikupuna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jharmon40
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Very good and moist. I added toasted coconut on top! Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
It definitely did not live up to the expectation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracycarr
Home Town: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Delicious, moist, and light! This cake is super easy to make & delicious! Made this for a potluck @ work & everyone LOVED it! People are asking me for the recipe & when I'm gona make it again. Very, very soon! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Yum. This so easy and gets tasting better everyday it sits in the fridge. I made it exactly as written and will definitely make it again. Thx for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is a great recipe for a refreshing cold tropical dessert but this is how I do it: We use a jelly roll pan 11 1/2 x 17 1/2 x3/4. Drain the pineapple and distribute evenly over cooled cake. Make your pudding using only 3 cups of milk. I use coconut cream sometimes when I can find it. Layer the pudding on the cake next. Then layer with a large container of cool whip. Then sprinkle with coconut. Never any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Super easy and super delicious!! The frosting was AMAZING!! I made 2 nine inch round cakes because I coudn't find my 9x13 pan anywhere!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States