Hawaiian Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
This was so easy and I found the trick to get them out of the pan. I only waited about 5 min. The tarts were still warm and they came right out. The last pan I ran to the store and they cooled completely and they just would not come out. I popped them back in the oven for a few minutes and then slid a butter knife along side and they lifted right out. This is really a keeper and will be on my cookie list a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These are pretty good! I used sweetened shredded coconut & 3/4 cup crushed pineapple instead of preserves, I think the preserves would make it too sweet! And thats all I had to subsitute. I also lined the mini muffin tins with mini baking cups (the lined foil kind).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2004
Excellent. Easy to make and came out very nicely. A tip for those who had trouble getting them out of the pan -- try to make sure nothing but the touches the pan. I found that they were only hard to remove in the instances where the dough didn't quite come to the top and the preserves or coconut mixture touched the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pawtucket, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Easy and yummmm! I used normal size muffin pan and it worked just fine. Shape dough like a shallow cup inside the muffin well and put filling inside. No problem removing from pan - I sprayed with cooking oil spray before I put the dough in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I actually made this recipe as butter cookies and did not use the filling. As cookies these are rich, fragrant with butter, and not too sweet. Add icing, and they make a beautiful and delectable treat. I will definitely try the recipe as written too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2002
My daughter was attending a Hawaiian themed party and needed to bring a "themed dish" and I tried this recipe with much success. They were beautiful and tasted wonderful. Everyone enjoyed them and raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrissie
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Great recipe. The tart taste is just right with the pineapple on the bottom and coconut layer on top. I just had a few issues with baking this. First the recipe said 3 dozen. I followed the ingredients and came up to 30 tarts. I should have cooled the dough first. With other tarts I made I usually cool it to make it easier to shape with the pan. You can do it right away but I suggest cooling it. When removing the tarts from the pan, it was very difficult. The crust was very flakey. It was delicious but flakey. A few came out easily. I will definitely try this tart again for an upcoming luau party. Just a few things differently then I think it would come out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Excellent! Made these today, exactly as written. Followed a couple of reviews, saying to remove tarts from the pan after 5 minutes - DON'T DO IT - they are too fragile when warm! Let them cool off for 15 minutes or so. Ran a thin paring knife around edges and they came out easy. I would recommend: Making 1" balls of dough, then chilling before molding into cups (I had to keep flouring my finger to keep dough from sticking to it). Also, don't press dough above the top of the cups. Taste is very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
These were so good I had a hawaiian party and i made these i thought they might turn out wrong when i looked in the oven. But the taste great before the party i was thinking of just eating them all! dont change a thing!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Big hit at a work Hawaiian party. Used crushed pineapple instead of preserves. Also, I used regular size muffin tins and baked them at 375 for about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States