Hawaiian Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Easy and yummmm! I used normal size muffin pan and it worked just fine. Shape dough like a shallow cup inside the muffin well and put filling inside. No problem removing from pan - I sprayed with cooking oil spray before I put the dough in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Good. Grease the pans well. You can also use normal muffin sized tins for a larger tart. I actually prefer the larger size, because there is more filling. In the smaller sizes, there is too much of the taste of the crust (which is good), but it overpowers the filling to some extent. Very pretty presentation (see pic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
USE MINI CUPCAKE PAPERS! I made these for a friend's party and I didn't use the papers for half of the batch. Once they cooled, they broke when I took them out and kinda turned into a mess. Also, I used raspberry preserves instead of pineapple. Still very good and got great reviews from my friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Very good...after reading all the reviews I used Pam to spray my cupcake tins. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I will absolutely use liners next time, as getting these out was a nightmare! I tried both the suggestions and the recipe's guide, and both were a disaster-- leaving much of the tart in the tin no matter what I tried. I was mortified. However, the taste was excellent and they were still the first thing gone at my luau!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SemantiTheft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Baltimore, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
These are pretty good! I used sweetened shredded coconut & 3/4 cup crushed pineapple instead of preserves, I think the preserves would make it too sweet! And thats all I had to subsitute. I also lined the mini muffin tins with mini baking cups (the lined foil kind).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
These were so delicious! And they popped out easily of the pan for me. I substituted some canned pineapple in juice mixed with apricot jam for the pineapple preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Wow! These are delicious. I did them just as the recipe but since I didn't have a mini-muffin tray I did full sized muffins. Next time I will cheat though and use ready made short crust pastry for the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Senija, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARSHAHELMUTH
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
After reading the reviews about unsuccessful of removing the tarts from the mini-muffin pan, I used flour flavored cooking spray on the mini-muffin pan, then rolled 1 inch ball with flour, too. I took them out immediately, right after I took them out of the oven and put them on the cooling rack. I got all tarts (100%)out of the mini-muffin pan!!I also used apricot-pineapple perserves because there's no pineapple perserves at my Safeway but still they were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARSHAHELMUTH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I used this for a Hawaiian themed potluck, and my co-workers (and family) loved it :) I did however make adjustments to the recipe... I omitted the coconut/egg portion of the recipe because one of my co-workers was allergic (my family liked it with the coconut/egg). I also used other fruit preserves for fillings. When I first tried the recipe I had a problem with some of the tarts breaking apart in the pan :(. But, as others mentioned, taking them out while they're still warm helps the tarts to come out more easily (... also buying a new nonstick pan helps a lot too x3). I think I’m going to try using the dough for butter cookies as another reviewer entered. Everyone loved the tart shell itself so it sounded like a good idea to try. Thanks for sharing Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina Lairs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States