Hawaiian Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I thought this was delicious! I used a can of sweet potatoes that I had on hand and pineapple tidbits. I used less sweet potatoes than called for, so I just eyeballed everything else according to taste. Great flavor...I would make this again, for sure~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
2 large potatoes take longer than 20 minutes to cook, at least 30 minutes. I thought they would soften up in oven, but didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I changed it up to make due with what was in my cupboards, and it came out great! I had to do canned sweet potatoes, drained and rinsed. I followed the tips and used less banana, and think it was a good outcome. I had fresh pineapple, so it wasn't quite crushed, but the bites were delish. I added toasted coconut and liked it. The only bummer was probably the canned taters, they made it a little too sweet. I'd like to try another reviewers idea for adding ginger next time - sans coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moneyCuz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this for a Hawaiian luau themed party. I boiled the potatoes 30 minutes, and I sprinkled about 1/2 cup of chopped macadamia nuts on top during the last 15 minutes of baking. It came out very good, but I think the bananas overpowered the sweet potatoes a little. If I make this again, I would cut back on the number of bananas. Other than that, it's a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Excellent recipe. Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this for an Hawaiian potluck at the campground we were staying at. It turned out great, looked great and it was a super huge success. I had quite a few requests for the recipe. I will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I made this for a luau-inspired party. I personally don't care for the cooked bananas, but my guests all loved it. I added more cinnamon than the recipe called for, about a full tablespoon, and a bit less brown sugar. I'm unsure how other reviewers ended up with a "mess" because this dish presents beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
This is a terrificly different recipe for sweet potatoes. On a hot humid summer day in the Midwest, it was downright refreshing! The bananas are just the right ingredient to differentiate it from the boring Thanksgiving yam recipes. I halved it for myself and my husband, and it was still enough for leftovers. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by taymay13
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I had no problems making this recipe and it turned out great with lots of flavor. I changed the recipe around a bit though. I began by peeling the sweet potatoes and cutting them into cubes before I boiled it.. Then I added extra brown sugar and cinnamon since people said it was a little blah. As a garnish I made some toasted coconut for the top! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taymay13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this last Thanksgiving and it does have potential. I will try it again, but omit the bananas and add some ginger to taste. It is not too sweet, but it's really good for those who like natural fresh foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Whipped Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make a classic Thanksgiving sweet potato casserole.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States