Hawaiian Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
This could almost be classified as another recipe. The first time I went to make this bread I didn't have all the ingredients. I omitted the potato flakes and lemon extract. Instead of 4 tablespoons of margarine, I used oil and I used 1 TSP of salt instead of 3/4 TSP. I made the bread in my bread machine, any crust setting works. Just a different variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCardinal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boardman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
The Hawaiian Bread had a wonderful smell and a lovely texture. It tasted great with or without butter. I made two batches in one day. One I gave to my mother who had never even heard of it before. She couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2000
Not as sweet at the name suggest. The lemon extract seems to add an overpowering taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I just couldn't bring myself to pay $4 for a loaf in the store anymore and I think this came really close to store bought. I used a bit more sugar than called for. I don't have a bread machine so I dissolved the sugar, butter and salt in the water, then sprinkled the yeast on top and let it set until bubbly. Then I mixed in the other ingredients adding the flour last. Well people, the stickiness depends on the humidity level. ADD MORE FLOUR if it is too sticky! Geeez! Yummy good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Instead of 1 cup of water, I used 1 cup of pineapple juice. I baked it in a 10" round pan and it turned out perfect. I put spinach dip in the Hawaiian bread and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Not a bad bread, but I think the flavor combination needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OFENJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This is a very easy bread to make. It wasn't as sweet as I thought it would be but quite tender and a really good flavor. The lemon extract is a good addition. I think the next time I make it (and I will make it again) I will increase the sugar - maybe double it and experiment with orange or pineapple extract in place of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I love this bread!! It is sweet and moist and delicious! I serve it with honey butter. I make the dough in my bread machine and then bake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2000
This is an excellent bread. My 10-year old and his dad both loved it. It is not too sweet, just right for kids. I substituted organge extract for lemon and added a little more flour and some wheat bran to make it work in my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Very good! I used coconut extract instead of lemon which was good. I wasn't home to get the dough out of the bread machine right away, and then let it rise again and it turned out great. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States