Hawaiian Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This turned out wonderful. I love it, but I didn't have lemon extract so I used orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Bryant

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Instead of 1 cup of water, I used 1 cup of pineapple juice. I baked it in a 10" round pan and it turned out perfect. I put spinach dip in the Hawaiian bread and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
I used to have a different variation of this recipe that used lemon peel instead of lemon extract and was much sweeter (that recipe was better). But that recipe and this one always seems to rise more than what it says...I always end up with enough dough for 2 loaves. I like to put the dough into 2 round cake pans, but even when I use the loaf pan, it still takes 2 of them. The first time I made this recipe, I ended up with a mess because the dough expanded too much. I rate this recipe as just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Very good! I used coconut extract instead of lemon which was good. I wasn't home to get the dough out of the bread machine right away, and then let it rise again and it turned out great. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I made this bread for a Christmas Dinner in a round easter bread loaf style.... It worked out wonderful! I took some time riseing, however it took and rose nice after awhile. I did add some flour making it a little heavier though. Overall Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This bread turned out delicious and fluffy, and was not hard to make. At one point I was sure I did something terribly wrong, because the dough that came out of my bread machine was so sticky and almost runny, but it baked just fine, and all my guests enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This is soooooo good! My mom has this recipe and makes it all the time for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This had a great flavor. I don't have a bread machine so I wasn't sure how to adapt this recipe. The dough was more "fluid" than I had expected. It did raise, but it flowed over my pan and made a mess. It made a bigger mess in the oven. Aside from the mess, it tasted good and I served it with a spinach dip. I exchanged the lemon flavoring for coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This is a very easy bread to make. It wasn't as sweet as I thought it would be but quite tender and a really good flavor. The lemon extract is a good addition. I think the next time I make it (and I will make it again) I will increase the sugar - maybe double it and experiment with orange or pineapple extract in place of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Not a bad bread, but I think the flavor combination needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OFENJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States