Hawaiian Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2000
This is an excellent bread. My 10-year old and his dad both loved it. It is not too sweet, just right for kids. I substituted organge extract for lemon and added a little more flour and some wheat bran to make it work in my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I love this bread!! It is sweet and moist and delicious! I serve it with honey butter. I make the dough in my bread machine and then bake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This is soooooo good! My mom has this recipe and makes it all the time for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
This could almost be classified as another recipe. The first time I went to make this bread I didn't have all the ingredients. I omitted the potato flakes and lemon extract. Instead of 4 tablespoons of margarine, I used oil and I used 1 TSP of salt instead of 3/4 TSP. I made the bread in my bread machine, any crust setting works. Just a different variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCardinal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boardman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
The Hawaiian Bread had a wonderful smell and a lovely texture. It tasted great with or without butter. I made two batches in one day. One I gave to my mother who had never even heard of it before. She couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I made this bread for a Christmas Dinner in a round easter bread loaf style.... It worked out wonderful! I took some time riseing, however it took and rose nice after awhile. I did add some flour making it a little heavier though. Overall Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This turned out wonderful. I love it, but I didn't have lemon extract so I used orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very good. Might not raise as much as you'd expect, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I love this recipe. It is so sweet and yummy. It makes great toast. I wish there was a way to make it slightly less crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
this was soooo good! very happy with the bread. the only change i made was that i added coconut extract to it as well, but everything else was followed exactly. I will make this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather duncan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States