Hawaiian Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2000
Not as sweet at the name suggest. The lemon extract seems to add an overpowering taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2000
This is an excellent bread. My 10-year old and his dad both loved it. It is not too sweet, just right for kids. I substituted organge extract for lemon and added a little more flour and some wheat bran to make it work in my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
This could almost be classified as another recipe. The first time I went to make this bread I didn't have all the ingredients. I omitted the potato flakes and lemon extract. Instead of 4 tablespoons of margarine, I used oil and I used 1 TSP of salt instead of 3/4 TSP. I made the bread in my bread machine, any crust setting works. Just a different variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrCardinal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boardman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westlake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2001
The Hawaiian Bread had a wonderful smell and a lovely texture. It tasted great with or without butter. I made two batches in one day. One I gave to my mother who had never even heard of it before. She couldn't get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2002
I love this bread!! It is sweet and moist and delicious! I serve it with honey butter. I make the dough in my bread machine and then bake in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
Not a bad bread, but I think the flavor combination needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OFENJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This is a very easy bread to make. It wasn't as sweet as I thought it would be but quite tender and a really good flavor. The lemon extract is a good addition. I think the next time I make it (and I will make it again) I will increase the sugar - maybe double it and experiment with orange or pineapple extract in place of the lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This had a great flavor. I don't have a bread machine so I wasn't sure how to adapt this recipe. The dough was more "fluid" than I had expected. It did raise, but it flowed over my pan and made a mess. It made a bigger mess in the oven. Aside from the mess, it tasted good and I served it with a spinach dip. I exchanged the lemon flavoring for coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This is soooooo good! My mom has this recipe and makes it all the time for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This bread turned out delicious and fluffy, and was not hard to make. At one point I was sure I did something terribly wrong, because the dough that came out of my bread machine was so sticky and almost runny, but it baked just fine, and all my guests enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States