Hawaiian Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Like others, I found this was pretty sticky and therefore added a half cup more flour. Also this made enough dough for two loaves. Not quite as sweet as my hubby hoped for but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merrilymarilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
this was soooo good! very happy with the bread. the only change i made was that i added coconut extract to it as well, but everything else was followed exactly. I will make this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather duncan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I love this recipe. It is so sweet and yummy. It makes great toast. I wish there was a way to make it slightly less crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I halved the lemon like some others had suggested. This bread turned out great! Next time I want to try pineapple juice in stead of water, and see how that tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Cantrell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Very good. Might not raise as much as you'd expect, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I thought this was good. It was very light but not quite sweet enough. Due to other reviews I added all vanilla and omitted the lemon. It did go well with the ham I made and we will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I just couldn't bring myself to pay $4 for a loaf in the store anymore and I think this came really close to store bought. I used a bit more sugar than called for. I don't have a bread machine so I dissolved the sugar, butter and salt in the water, then sprinkled the yeast on top and let it set until bubbly. Then I mixed in the other ingredients adding the flour last. Well people, the stickiness depends on the humidity level. ADD MORE FLOUR if it is too sticky! Geeez! Yummy good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Photo by ktredshoes
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Pretty easy to make though I added about another quarter cup of flour because the dough was so wet. The dough still came out VERY sticky and rose like crazy. I let it rise only half an hour in the loaf pan -- if I'd let it double in bulk, it would have spilled way over the top of the pan! Baked for 25 minutes and it was done -- coarse crumb but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I made 9 of these loaves in 3 days. poof! I did change the recipe slightly - omitted lemon extract and increased the vanilla to 1/2 tsp. People loved the bread. BUT, if you're looking for King's Hawaiian, this isn't it - King's Hawaiian is much sweeter. Like I said tho, people loved this and one of the comments I heard the most about why they did was because it wasn't too sweet. fwiw. Will try adding a tiny bit of orange oil next time. Just curious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This tastes NOTHING like any Hawaiian Sweet Bread that I have ever eaten before! As a general bread it turned out well and tasted good (although I personally didn't like the lemon taste). Don't make this recipe expecting Hawaiian Sweet Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States