Hawaiian Sweet Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This bread was amazing. I upped the pineapple juice by about 1/4 cup per other reviewers suggestions. I also baked it about 30 minutes instead of 25 and it was perfectly done in the center. Great recipe, sweet and light in texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Easy and delicious. I took the advice of others by increasing the pineapple juice to 1 1/4 cups and decreased the water to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Made this bread for a Hawaiian themed party and it was a hit. Now it is a staple for the party every year. We pair it with homemade honey butter, and there is never any left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angieb6578

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This bread was awesome I used coconut milk instead of regular milk and about a teaspoon of dough conditioner and it really made the bread tender and fluffy. I made them into rolls rather than a loaf and it was a hit! I made pineapple butter to spread onto it and I couldnt have asked for anything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
great recipe! i've made it several times now, but with the following changes: instead of 1/2 c water, increase the pineapple juice to 1 1/2 cups, and replace the milk with either evaporated milk or coconut milk (or even coconut cream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plantgirl33

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
The bread is pretty good, but it need more sugar to make it pretty close to the Hawaiian Sweek Bread you get from the store. I want to make is more buttery, so I plan to put more butter in it too when I make it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Perfect Hawaiian Sweet Bread, I rolled it out to 3/4" thick and cut into 2" circles and made rolls for Thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Didn't have potato flakes, so subbed with potato starch. Went with the suggestion to use more pineapple juice, so nixed the water. My dough was super sticky. Had to add a bunch of extra flour in order to handle it. Used 1/3 of the recipe to make 9 rolls in a round 8 inch pan. It browned fairly quickly, so had to cover with foil for the last 5 mins. In total, baked for 25 mins or so. It smelled great while baking and when I took them out of the oven. However, the texture was similar to that of corn bread. I was expecting a light and fluffy roll. Maybe it turned out this way because I added too much extra flour? Or was it the potato starch substitute?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is THE BEST bread I have ever made! I had a Hawaiian-themed baby dedication dinner today with the Kalua pork from allrecipes, which was also amazing, but this bread was simply amazing. I served it with some honey butter - yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
It's best to use regular yeast and not quick rise yeast. The liquid temperature was too hot for the yeast I use and it killed my yeast both times. I plan to try it again with regular yeast though. It smells great though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States