Hawaiian-Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
These were great. I'm making them a second time for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaMora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I made these for a benefit yesterday and they were a huge hit! Because we were making these in mass quantities, we baked them first and waited until we had them in the roaster before covering them in the sauce. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNIE2SHU

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Great tasting, all my guests loved them! The only problem I had was that they fell apart once I tossed them in the sauce and baked them again, next time I might try putting some breadcrubms and egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
These sound yummy. Has anyone made these a day ahead? I imagine you could and then just reheat in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I had some vegetarian meatballs leftover from a batch I made earlier this week and wanted a quick recipe to use them up. This one caught my interest because I had all the ingredients on hand. Since I didn't need to make the meatballs, I added the soy sauce, onion and garlic powders to the preserves and cider. I skipped the sugar since I figured it would already be sweet enough. I didn't have quite enough apricot preserves so I substituted the rest with orange marmalade. I heated the sauce on the stovetop until it was somewhat liquid then added the meatless balls and heated through. I served this over rice. Yummy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very tasty and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was a hit at a party we hosted. They were easy snacks/appetizers for guest. Guest frequently commented on them and they were gone before the evening was over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HyakuMoon
Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This recipe was delicious. I also substituted Peach jam for the apricot jam and it worked out well. Doubled the spices as well as the soy and the ingredients for the sauce, jam and vinegar. Added just an extra half Tb of brown sugar to balance out the extra soy. Not a fan of water chestnuts so cut out half and REALLY finely chopped up the remainder to the point of being minced. Meatballs were very moist. Doubling the sauce worked out well and we just heated what we had left and let everyone drizzle what they wanted over the rice and meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HyakuMoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
AMAZINGLY suprised! I am not a meatball fan and when I saw another foe - apricot jam - I tried to run. But the other half teased me so much I made them to prove a point - his point as it turns out :) These are fantastic, hot/cold, reheated, for lunch, dinner, bedtime snack. Served on ramen stir fried with veggies. SO GOOD. I did use an apritcot and pineapple jam instead of the straight apricot. Thanks for the yummies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHYUMMERS!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
These were pretty good. Mine came out a little dry. I expected there to be more sauce on them. Good flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Sweet and Sour Meatballs

These 5-star cocktail meatballs are simmered in a simple sweet and sour sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States