Hawaiian-Style Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Loved it. I cut this recipe in half and one large onion was ENOUGH. I also decided to take the previous reviewer's advice and add in the juice from the canned pineapple. If I had served it immediately it would have been too watery, but I served it the next day and the texture was perfect. This does make a spicy chili so the pineapple does take a bit of the edge off. This is a keeper! My guy loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Very good recipe. 2nd's for everyone! I split the hamburger by half. The other half I used chili meat. Browned it with garlic powder. In place of chili powder I used "Fiesta" brand chili mix powder. It's made in San Antonio,Texas. 2 onions instead of 6 listed. For the slight zing with the sweetness I gave a heavy dash of "Tabasco"brand Habanero sauce. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This is absolutely my new favorite chili recipe. I only made a few changes to suit our preferences. I halved the amount of meat (and used grnd turkey instead of beef), but left all the veggies at the full quantity except onions, of which I only used 2. I really cannot imagine, even if i had used 2lbs of meat, using 6 onions. Also, I didn't drain the pineapples, which were packed in juice. The light sweetness really helped to balance out the heat. I will make this again, for sure, and often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brenham, Texas, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanaquil
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Wow--this was so good! I loved the salty vs. sweet combo, it was delicious. I followed the first reviewer's advice and cut the onions way down, but otherwise followed the recipe. Also took the suggestion of adding the pineapple juice to the broth. Edit: Oops, I forgot to get the kidney beans at the store and so I didn't get to use those in this recipe (posted pic), but next time I definately will remember! (: Thanks, Christain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
I've never rated a recipe before officially serving it but I will give it 5 stars because hubby has been sneaking small bowls of it out of the crockpot all afternoon. Fortunately there is enough left for dinner. I had a little taste too and really like it. I followed directions except reduced onions and omitted chili pepper and salt as I used pinto beans in chili sauce that is plenty spicy for us. Finished it up in the crock pot because we like the onions and bell peppers pretty soft in our chili. Also used crushed pineapple with the juice. I think this is our new favorite chile. Thanks. UPDATE: I've made this several times since I rated it the first time and we still love it. Last night I maded it with no ground beef and it was still great. I did double the amount of beans to take the place of the beef. Love it, love it, love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
We have a large family and they all loved this recipe - some going back for third bowls. I made it according to the recipe but followed one review's advice and used only 2 onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
We love this recipe, we do add mushrooms as my husband and I love mushrooms. We also add a pack of Taco seasoning, chick peas, fresh garlic and fruit chutney. The pineapple in this recipe really adds so much flavour, almost like a sweet and sour combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This was so good! Definitely a new favorite chili recipe. I adjusted it and just used 1.37lb ground beef and only 1 onion and 1 bell pepper but kept the beans, tomatoes and sauce the same. I also used a 20oz can of crushed pineapple instead of pineapple chunks! So amazing! Love the salty/sweet combo! And adjusting it still made a huge crockpot full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This recipie was a great started to what we added. Instead of chili powder, we used thai sweet red pepper sauce. We used the pinapple juice as mentioned before,added chopped eggplant and garlic. Then we served it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sizzlin' Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I made it with ground turkey and it was great! I really do like this chili! The one bad comment I have is...take the picture off the recipe...please! Everyone I have showed this too has commented on the pic negatively...I think it might turn people off from making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

HERDEZ® Roasted Pasilla Pepper Chili

See how to make a hearty, flavorful chili in your slow cooker.

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States