Hawaiian Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
These were delicious. To those who had trouble getting the sauce to stick to the ribs, try this: put the plain ribs (meat side up, seasoned with salt & pepper) on a rack in a roasting pan. Cover them super tight with foil, and bake an hour and fifteen minutes at 350. This will get them nice and tender. Then, remove them from the pan, drain the fat out of the bottom of the pan, and put the ribs back in the pan (with no rack this time). Cover them with the cooked sauce, and bake them again, uncovered, for 35 minutes. The meat will fall off the bone, and the sauce will be thick and yummy. I do this with pretty much every sauce I try on my ribs, and it really works. Yum yum yum. These were so loving, thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Button Love

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I thought this was a really good recipe. I cooked the spareribs in the oven on 350 for about 45 mins, then I put them in the crockpot with sauce on low for 5 hours. Maybe a little less vinegar or a little more brown sugar but otherwise great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRANKYWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
Everybody loved these ribs and wanted the recipe. The sauce was a bit thick, so I thinned it with some fruit juice I had in the fridge. You could use any fruit juice for this. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
These ribs are awesome! I cook them in the crock pot though - on low for about 8 hours (layer, layer, layer), and then serve over rice.... delicious! I quadrupled recipe for a luau party last year, and fed about 25 people with plenty of leftovers! Everyone asked for the recipe! Also, there's a recipe on this site for "Hawaiian Coleslaw", which is a great complimentary side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
I thought this was a 4, but my wife said definately a 5. Changed a couple of things; used 1/4 cup ketchup and 1/4 cup of my favorite barbecue sauce and upped the brown sugar to 4 Tbs. I let the sauce cool, then let meat set in the sauce about 3 hours before baking. Very tender and tangy and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
If you like sweet and sour with a Hawaiian flair, this is definitely for you. The meat is so tender it just falls off the bone...my mom used to make this when I was little but had lost the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing this and bringing back so many memories for me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christina b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Valley, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
Just made it for a luau surprise party and everyone loved it!!!! Will make it again. We ended making this recipe x'5 and they were almost all gone. People took copies of the recipe home. We put them in a roaster and cooked them for 4 hrs and they were falling off the bone. Would recommend to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I made these for a luau-themed Christmas party and loved them! I had never done ribs at all before and yet found this recipe to be super-easy. I did follow the instructions for cooking ribs in general left in one comment (cooking the meat, covered, by itself for an hour and a half before adding the sauce). Even my husband who claims to dislike all things barbecue or "sweet meat" really liked these - he's asking me to make them again already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
These were a hit at my Luau Party! I followed the advice of another rating that said to bake the ribs for the first 1.5 hours on a rack in the roaster and they were indeed "fall off the bone" good! the sauce was FANTASTIC! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
So good! The only change I made was substituting low sodium teriyaki for the soy sauce and cutting down just a bit on the vinegar. The sauce was so rich and thick, almost like a jam. The aroma was incredible. Definitely a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States