Hawaiian Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Reminds me of a dish my mother made when I was a kid. It was good then and now. My grand kids like this, too. I made a couple of changes to suit my family's tastes. Used less ginger and less apricot preserves in the sauce. Also, I sauteed the sausage first and used the leftover grease from it in the skillet to cook the vegetables, as I find most smoked sausage is rather greasy. I drained the sausage on paper towels before adding it back in to the vegetables and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enkimoz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Great recipe! One of my husband's new favorite dinners. I didn't use the crisco or tomatoes, but followed everything else and loved it! Tastes great over white rice. This one goes in my book! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Made it this evening and the family loved it. I have a larger family so I doubled the recipe & used extra virgin olive oil instead of crisco but other than that I followed the ingredients exactly. I disagree about the prep time & cook time but I guess if you like your veggies more al dente' it would work. The flavor combination is a bit sweet so I think I will back off on the preserves to 3/4 of the recommended next time but other than that a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thom Gough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hanny Manny
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Sauteed the vegetables and sausage in a little extra virgin olive oil. Used fresh grated ginger and homemade blackberry jam instead of apricot jam. I'm sure apricot jam would taste good too but I wanted to use what I had on hand. The dish could have used a touch more vinegar to cut through the sweetness, but all in all it was a great dish. Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
USED ONLY 1/2 TOMATO SINCE THAT'S ALL I HAD. USED PEACH PRESERVES. SERVED OVER BROWN RICE. VERY GOOD! I would add some cooked carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This meal was delicious. I substituted orange marmalade for the apricot preserves, and I liked that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this for a pitch in. Everyone liked it. I used peach jelly because I already had some. The rest was exactly to recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Was not our cup of tea, sorry. Although I do like to try new dishes. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
It was o.k. it was more of a one time dish. I defitnitely won't be making this again but it wasn't bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
The pepper just didn't seem to taste right with the rest of the dish - but I loved the sweet/salty combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alinkochan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States