Hawaiian Smoked Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made this for a pitch in. Everyone liked it. I used peach jelly because I already had some. The rest was exactly to recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Great recipe for a busy day! Browned turkey sausage then added 1 chopped green pepper, 1 chopped yellow pepper and a chopped sweet onion. I love garlic, so I also added some minced garlic to the mix. Skipped the tomato as I didn't have one on hand, and reduced the preserves to 1/4 cup since I feared it would be too sweet. It wasn't, so next time I'll use the full 1/2 cup (I used the Smucker's apricot spreadable fruit). Also, reduced the ginger down to 1/4 tsp, but would probably do 3/4 - 1 tsp next time. Had to sub teriyaki for soy (didn't have it) and used seasoned rice vinegar. Only used an 8 oz can of pineapple chunks, which was perfect for our preference. Served over steamed jasmine rice, it was better than expected! DH dumped on his usual red pepper flakes, and I couldn't help myself from using some Thai sweet chile sauce on my portion. Using just about any veggie (broccoli, cabbage, carrots, spinach, etc.) would work well with this very adaptable recipe. Even chicken or pork would be a nice sub for the smoked sausage. Definitely enjoyed and will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Cooked the sausage first, and drained off grease, then added veggies, along with a small clove of garlic. Left out tomatos and reduced ginger to 1t. Used apple cider vinegar and strawberry preserves, and only about a half cup of pineapple, adding a little juice and water to make more of a sauce and deglaze the pan. Easy, quick, and good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Enjoyed this dish - hubby gave it 3 stars b/c of the sweet/salty aspect as well as not enough flavor. Daughter gave it 4 stars and I would as well - this was easy and had great flavor - served over herbed, veg rice. Looking forward to leftovers as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Reminds me of a dish my mother made when I was a kid. It was good then and now. My grand kids like this, too. I made a couple of changes to suit my family's tastes. Used less ginger and less apricot preserves in the sauce. Also, I sauteed the sausage first and used the leftover grease from it in the skillet to cook the vegetables, as I find most smoked sausage is rather greasy. I drained the sausage on paper towels before adding it back in to the vegetables and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Enkimoz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Was not our cup of tea, sorry. Although I do like to try new dishes. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxxx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
We absolutely loved this recipe. Even the boy ate all of his serving. I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
It was o.k. it was more of a one time dish. I defitnitely won't be making this again but it wasn't bad though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I grew up eating this, and now it's one of my family's favorite recipes. I can actually get my 4 year old son to eat vegetables, lol! When I don't have much time or if I don't have the produce on hand, I use frozen stir-fry veggies, and it's still fantastic! I do cut back on the ginger by about half, though, otherwise the 4 year old will say it's too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loudflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
USED ONLY 1/2 TOMATO SINCE THAT'S ALL I HAD. USED PEACH PRESERVES. SERVED OVER BROWN RICE. VERY GOOD! I would add some cooked carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Angel Cookies

See how to make moist, fruity strawberry cookies.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States