Hawaiian Punch Slush for Adults Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I've made this several times now; starting w/ a Luau for my daughter's 30th. Everyone has loved it! We HAVE made it for kids events, just LEAVE-OUT the Vodka and freeze it in ice cube trays, since the alcohol keeps it from freezing too hard to get out of the container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I am not one who normally reaches for an "Adult Refreshment," when my back hurts, but this sounded really good, especially with the skip from winter into summer, in the DC-Metro area. I tried to short-cut the process with my Cuisinart ice cream maker and it DID NOT WORK. My back was killing me and needed a "Plan B" and used the blender, w/ ice instead. Mixed it with the 7-UP after it came out of the blender. My wife and I REALLY enjoyed this. She said it reminds her of something called a "Swampwater" her crew used to make, when she was in the service. The only difference is to substitute the frozen lemon-aid, with frozen lime-aid. Medical note: After two of these (2 x 12 oz.), the muscle spasms ceased and the lower back pain has subsided greatly. I also have one happy wife. It went well w/ my chicken dinner, I prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Moshlak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Awesome drink!! Followed the tip on mixing ingredients at room temperature, used a 5 quart plastic ice cream bucket to freeze in-perfect fit! Also, used 1 and 1/2 bottles of vodka so it took almost 2 days to become a slush-kinda surpised it even froze that much =-0 Will be a summertime staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmurfyGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cassopolis, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I saw that several reviewers commented on what to do about the chunks from the cream of coconut...I had the same problem so I just tossed it in the blender to get rid of them and it worked great! I used coconut vodka. I also thought the drink was a little on the sweet side so I added tonic water instead of Sprite. I also added some Malibu as well!! YUM!! Reviewers are correct...it makes a HUGE portion!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Great drink. I have to figure out what to do about the little chunks of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
A fantastic party drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolcott, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for New Year's Eve. I thought a bottle of vodka would be too strong, but it wasn't at all. Some people preferred this with Sprite, I liked it better with selzer (carbonated water) so it wasn't quite so sweet. Try to allow a day and a half for this to freeze - 24 hours wasn't quite long enough. It won't freeze solid, it just goes to a slush. This would be good with rum, too. I will make this again for another party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
We make ours w/out the vodka and still very good. Something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was a hit at our Hawaiian party! I would add more alcohol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Little Rock, Iowa, USA
Living In: Plumas Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I made this last year for our block party and everyone loved it. The drink mixture is super sweet, so I topped it with Diet Sprite, which was a good compliment. This definitely needs at least 24 hours to freeze and it makes a huge batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Luscious Slush Punch

See how to make a refreshing alcohol-free punch.

Blue Hawaiian Cocktail

See how to make a classic tiki cocktail with rum and blue curacao.

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States