Hawaiian Punch Slush for Adults Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I've made this several times now; starting w/ a Luau for my daughter's 30th. Everyone has loved it! We HAVE made it for kids events, just LEAVE-OUT the Vodka and freeze it in ice cube trays, since the alcohol keeps it from freezing too hard to get out of the container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I am not one who normally reaches for an "Adult Refreshment," when my back hurts, but this sounded really good, especially with the skip from winter into summer, in the DC-Metro area. I tried to short-cut the process with my Cuisinart ice cream maker and it DID NOT WORK. My back was killing me and needed a "Plan B" and used the blender, w/ ice instead. Mixed it with the 7-UP after it came out of the blender. My wife and I REALLY enjoyed this. She said it reminds her of something called a "Swampwater" her crew used to make, when she was in the service. The only difference is to substitute the frozen lemon-aid, with frozen lime-aid. Medical note: After two of these (2 x 12 oz.), the muscle spasms ceased and the lower back pain has subsided greatly. I also have one happy wife. It went well w/ my chicken dinner, I prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Moshlak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Awesome drink!! Followed the tip on mixing ingredients at room temperature, used a 5 quart plastic ice cream bucket to freeze in-perfect fit! Also, used 1 and 1/2 bottles of vodka so it took almost 2 days to become a slush-kinda surpised it even froze that much =-0 Will be a summertime staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmurfyGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cassopolis, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I saw that several reviewers commented on what to do about the chunks from the cream of coconut...I had the same problem so I just tossed it in the blender to get rid of them and it worked great! I used coconut vodka. I also thought the drink was a little on the sweet side so I added tonic water instead of Sprite. I also added some Malibu as well!! YUM!! Reviewers are correct...it makes a HUGE portion!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Great drink. I have to figure out what to do about the little chunks of coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
A fantastic party drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolcott, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for New Year's Eve. I thought a bottle of vodka would be too strong, but it wasn't at all. Some people preferred this with Sprite, I liked it better with selzer (carbonated water) so it wasn't quite so sweet. Try to allow a day and a half for this to freeze - 24 hours wasn't quite long enough. It won't freeze solid, it just goes to a slush. This would be good with rum, too. I will make this again for another party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
We make ours w/out the vodka and still very good. Something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was a hit at our Hawaiian party! I would add more alcohol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Little Rock, Iowa, USA
Living In: Plumas Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I made this last year for our block party and everyone loved it. The drink mixture is super sweet, so I topped it with Diet Sprite, which was a good compliment. This definitely needs at least 24 hours to freeze and it makes a huge batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Luscious Slush Punch

See how to make a refreshing alcohol-free punch.

Blue Hawaiian Cocktail

See how to make a classic tiki cocktail with rum and blue curacao.

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States