Hawaiian Pork Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I didn't really care for this. The flavor was bland except for the strong garlic flavor. That might sound like a good thing but not to me. The ingredients looked flavorful and I followed the recipe to a tee. I tried it with the shoyu lemon dipping sauce and then with the sweet chili sauce. It tasted better with the sweet chili sauce. I'm from Hawaii so I know what its supposed to taste like. In fact pork hash is one of my favorite foods. I really really wanted to like this but it just wasn't for me. :o( i may have tweek this recipe like leaving out the eggwhites, a little more oyster sauce less garlic. I don't know if it made a differance that I steamed it in a metal steamers rather than a bamboo steamer??? Oh well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIFERKITTY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kihei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makawao, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe for a last minute holiday potluck however, I did not make it to the grocery store in time to get ground pork. Not having a meat grinder at home, I opted to make a Kalua pork (shredded smoky salted pork) and used that in place. It was ono-licious (as the islanders say)! I also used a wasabi/soy sauce on the side for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Great recipe, served them to a crowd at our annual Hawaiian style bbq. The only problem was my ineptitude in pleating the wonton skins. I also couldn't find the round skins so I used the square ones. I ended up folding opposite corners together and steaming them. I did put them on lettuce leaves in the steamers so they couldn't stick. I even did 2 layers in the steamer by putting a piece of parchment paper between the layers and it worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Ono! I did omit the egg white, but added everything else and increase the oyster sauce to 2 tsp. I use water to seal my wonton edges. It never falls apart once cooked. What's not to love about pork hash? Freshly made, full of wonderful flavor, home-cooked comfort food - delicious! I serve with Aloha soy sauce mixed with a little sesame oil and a little lemon juice with chopped green onions. Other times I will dip into a mixture of Chinese hot mustard and soy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I fought it was good, not great. Family was not impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Try adding diced shiitake mushrooms and Chinese black beans. That'll put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was so ono! Served it with shoyu mixed with a little sesame oil and chile paste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HAWAII GIRL Luvs2Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
YUMMMM!!! omg thanks for the recipe post! I've been searching for this recipe since i moved to VA a year ago! Tried it out today...ONO!!!!!!! My haole husband loves this pork hash. I didn't have time to mince the shrimp my hand so i put it in a blender and it worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII GIRL Luvs2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was delicious!!! I made these for a party I was catering and people couldn't stop raving about them! I omitted the shrimp and doubled the pork due to some people's food allergies but they were still fabulous! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This was the first thing that my wife and I made in our newly bought bamboo steamer.... AWESOME STUFF MAN!!! The only thing we did wrong was ovesteamed them and the wraps came out spongy... But the filling was still ONO!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking from the Hip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Volcano, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States