Hawaiian Pork Hash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Its been years since I had these. They turned out pretty good. The wrappers are kinda delicate and may fall apart once you handle them after they have been steamed. I aldo used a teaspoon of ginger too. So ono!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Pakalolo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
These are delicious. I'm trying new things for my kids. I thought they look like shumai, but taste a lot better. The shrimp makes it yummy. I followed the recipe, but I didn't have water chesnuts. I put a little bit more oyster sauce (2 tsp to the 1 tsp the recipe calls for) and no salt. Turned out tasty. This was my first time making these, it's not that hard to work with the wonton skins, once I assemble one I put it in a mini muffin cup while I do the rest, and then I transfered all of them to the steamer. One thing though, this recipe only makes 12. Probably if you make it smaller it can stretch to 24, but I make regular size ones with regular wonton skin. I had square skins but I just trimmed the edges with a kitchen scissors. Will make again, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I didn't really care for this. The flavor was bland except for the strong garlic flavor. That might sound like a good thing but not to me. The ingredients looked flavorful and I followed the recipe to a tee. I tried it with the shoyu lemon dipping sauce and then with the sweet chili sauce. It tasted better with the sweet chili sauce. I'm from Hawaii so I know what its supposed to taste like. In fact pork hash is one of my favorite foods. I really really wanted to like this but it just wasn't for me. :o( i may have tweek this recipe like leaving out the eggwhites, a little more oyster sauce less garlic. I don't know if it made a differance that I steamed it in a metal steamers rather than a bamboo steamer??? Oh well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIFERKITTY

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kihei, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makawao, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe for a last minute holiday potluck however, I did not make it to the grocery store in time to get ground pork. Not having a meat grinder at home, I opted to make a Kalua pork (shredded smoky salted pork) and used that in place. It was ono-licious (as the islanders say)! I also used a wasabi/soy sauce on the side for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Great recipe, served them to a crowd at our annual Hawaiian style bbq. The only problem was my ineptitude in pleating the wonton skins. I also couldn't find the round skins so I used the square ones. I ended up folding opposite corners together and steaming them. I did put them on lettuce leaves in the steamers so they couldn't stick. I even did 2 layers in the steamer by putting a piece of parchment paper between the layers and it worked beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Ono! I did omit the egg white, but added everything else and increase the oyster sauce to 2 tsp. I use water to seal my wonton edges. It never falls apart once cooked. What's not to love about pork hash? Freshly made, full of wonderful flavor, home-cooked comfort food - delicious! I serve with Aloha soy sauce mixed with a little sesame oil and a little lemon juice with chopped green onions. Other times I will dip into a mixture of Chinese hot mustard and soy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I fought it was good, not great. Family was not impressed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Try adding diced shiitake mushrooms and Chinese black beans. That'll put it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This was so ono! Served it with shoyu mixed with a little sesame oil and chile paste :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HAWAII GIRL Luvs2Cook
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
YUMMMM!!! omg thanks for the recipe post! I've been searching for this recipe since i moved to VA a year ago! Tried it out today...ONO!!!!!!! My haole husband loves this pork hash. I didn't have time to mince the shrimp my hand so i put it in a blender and it worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAWAII GIRL Luvs2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven Kalua Pork

Amazing Hawaiian luau-style slow-roasted shredded pork.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States