Hawaiian Pineapple Upside Down Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
i tried it out in advance of our luau to make sure we liked it and boy oh boy, everyone in the house did! So I made it for the luau and it was truly a hit! Love allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Made it for a party last night and it was wonderful. I used up all the pineapple rings from the can and followed the recipe on the yellow cake mix box. The recipe called for 3 eggs, 1/2 cup water and 1/2 stick butter. No oil. I replaced the water from the pineapple juice from the can and the cake also had the pineapple flavor Thx for submitting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie Leworthy
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this with 2 gluten free cakes and added applesauce instead of the fat and pineapple juice instead of water it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Leworthy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
awesome, everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
What a great recipe,thanks for Sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
My wife just started a new job in Hawaii and it was my time to bring a treat in to work, so something Hawaiian seemed like a natural choice. I've never tried this recipe before so I didn't want to stray too much, but I did buy a "fresh" pineapple and coconut (we live in Kentucky, how fresh could they be?). Anyway it worked pretty well but was way too sweet. I would still use "fresh" coconut and pineapple but leave out 1/3 - 1/2 the brown sugar and substitute more of the "fresh coconut milk for the pineapple juice. BTW, we couldn't taste much bannana, so add 2-3 instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I made this yesterday and my family loved it. I served it semi-warm with a scoop of coconut ice-cream. They all had seconds! I only made half recipe. I used a 9 inch round cake pan and cooked for 40 mins. We didn’t have leftovers. Thanks for posting. That being said I have a few extra comments: The ingredients list said white cake but the narrative said yellow (I used white). Also note that the cake mix size said 18.25 oz but that was slightly larger than the boxes at my market. Finally I would have liked the author to specific sweetened or unsweetened coconut as it is an ingredient I don’t use a lot and questioned it. Given it didn’t specifically say sweetened I assumed un-sweetened which I couldn’t find it at my local market and too lazy to go to a second store so I used sweetened coconut. The cake was sweet but not overly sweet as the other reviewer thought. Finally I personally didn’t prefer the taste of the banana in the recipe but after my family was done they said they didn’t notice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Consider yourself warned. This cake is really rich and should be served in small amounts - with just a little bit of barely sweetened whipped cream. I did use yellow cake from scratch as I am not too fond of mixes. My partner who loves all things pineapple, banana, coconut and macadamia nut was in heaven. Luckily, I had the brilliant idea of baking this up in two pans so that he could take one to work with him as we would never be able to eat it all ourselves. Apparently, it disappeared during the morning coffee break. I will likely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
it came out so good it diden't last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This cake was excellent. Made it for a birthday and it lasted less than 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States