Hawaiian Pineapple Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Wasn't bad but wasn't that good either... probably wont be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This was the worst tasting sauce I have ever made. Very strong tomato taste (due to the amount of ketchup) and very strong vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Hugely disappointing. Very bland. Followed recipe to the letter, only difference being I put mine over the chicken in a crockpot. IF I ever used this recipe again (not likely) I would use pineapple chunks, and doctor it up with peppers and a little chile flakes and more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
When making this, I substituted Vinegar with red wine vinegar, and butter for margarine. I didn't use soy sauce, because it contains gluten. I also added chopped peppers. It turned out really well, the sauce tastes like a mild version of the spicy shrimp sauce from Pei Wei.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by June Perkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
yes i tryed the hawian chicken. I made it brown splenda because i have diabetes. And my mother in law has no teeth.it was soften for her to eat .thank you .we live in new market .alabama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Stone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KD1357
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Really liked this and the kids did too. I actually used half the ketchup called for and subbed in some BBQ sauce and used mango rice wine vinegar and fresh pineapple. I increased the heat for cooking a few degrees as I used boneless skinless thighs. Served with brown rice and black beans and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I tried this and added green peppers and onions and sauteed them in the butter sauce. I only used 2 lbs of boneless skinless chicken breasts. I increased the cornstarch to make the sauce thicker because I knew the pineapple juice would probably thin it down. We loved the way it turned out. Next time I may add carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I made a few changes after reading other reviews and a few of my own... I started with chicken tenders, which I cut in half (instead of chicken parts). I browned them in a little olive oil in a frypan and then poured the sauce over the chicken and cooked 15 minutes on the stovetop with a cover. I used fresh pineapple, but since it is not from a can with liquid, I added a little orange juice and ginger. I also added unsalted cashews. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paulette
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
It was quick, easy and delicious. My guests were very pleased. I prepared a green rice as side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
It was only ok, but I think it has potential. It will not brown in the oven with all of the sauce in the pan. I started to pour some of it off, but I try to cook it as the recipe is called first. Next time i'm going to cook on top of stove to brown the chicken. The chicken needed flavor it was really bland and slightly tough. It wasn't getting done at all with my oven set at 325 degrees. I turned it up to 400 degrees. The sauce is good! I didn't make this dish with rice, but I can see it working well with the sauce. I made it with mixed veggies-broccoli, cauliflower and carrots. Will try with sauce with rice next time. I didn't have any cornstarch on hand. I used baking powder. I'll give this recipe one more try before I thought it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Pineapple Chicken Tenders

See how to make juicy, tender grilled chicken skewers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States