Hawaiian Hot Dog Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I told the kids to search allrecipes for something with hot dogs - they came up with this. Now they want to eat it every time my husband and I go out. It was a big winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
My husband decided to make this easy recipe for hot dogs and it seemed a different alternative to plain old beans and weenies. My kids were not as crazy about it as was expressed they would be. 2 lbs of hot dogs was just WAAAAAYY too much. In the end noone wanted seconds and it sat in my fridge for a week until I finally pitched it. I'll stick with plain old beans and weenies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
This is really quite good. I did modify it a bit. I only had crushed pineapple, so I used that, and I kind of guessed on the sugar (just used brown, no white)...but probably used about 1/2 cup. To thicken it, I cooked it on the stove top and let it boil for a good 10-15 min without stirring it. I always find my beans thicken that way. I also opened up hot dog buns on the plate, and scooped the mixture over it. Almost like a sloppy joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I made this for my daughter's birthday party. I thought it sounded kind of strange, but it tasted really good. I did NOT add 2 cups of sugar as that would have been WAY too sweet, and no white sugar. Just 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it was plenty sweet. As is this recipe would get 2 or 3 stars with that ridiculous amount of sugar... Cookies have less sugar than that! Also it was too thin. The guys and kids loved it and kept going for more... Some of the women were afraid to try it, though! I would make it again for another kids party, not for dinner though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcguire Afb, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Everyone really liked this, at first I was weary with the pineapples, but they were great. I would recommend not eating leftovers from the day before, with the sugar in the recipe it became too strong and thick with sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Fletcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roaming Shores, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This was WAY too sweet! I would suggest making the traditional barbeque-style dish over this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRYNSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Far too sweet, even for my kids. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
My husband and I didn't particularily care for this recipe. We found it wayyyyyy too sweet. We might try it again but will cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
YUMMY! My husband and I enjoyed this recipe. This has a nice sweet flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I thought this was way way too sweet. I only used half the sugar, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vernylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States