Hawaiian Hot Dog Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Everyone really liked this, at first I was weary with the pineapples, but they were great. I would recommend not eating leftovers from the day before, with the sugar in the recipe it became too strong and thick with sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Fletcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roaming Shores, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
My husband and I didn't particularily care for this recipe. We found it wayyyyyy too sweet. We might try it again but will cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
My family really enjoyed this dish, even my very pick 2 year old. However I did find the sauce a little to runny, and would like to find out how to fix it because I plan to make this dish for and upcoming birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyMakingMachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Twin Valley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I thought I'd make this dish as a quick fix for our company on Saturday. It's not what I expected, thought it would be thick like a salsa so I thought the gang can scoop it with taco chips but when it was done I found it too juicy. The taste was great though so next time I will not add in the pineapple juice to see how it turns out. GOOD STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEPERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
So the kids loved it but it was not my favorite as the sweetness was overwhelming. I advise to consider cutting back on sugars. I also expected it to be a little thicker but instead it was more like a soup consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Only so-so. My kids didn't really eat it, and my husband and I didn't really care for it (and I love all the ingredients). I only added 1 cup of brown sugar and a tablespoon or two of white sugar and it was still plenty sweet. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
So Good! I like spicy stuff (even hot dogs) so i added a schluk of Thai BBQ sauce to this recipe. The hot and the sweet blended perfectly. I thought the sauce was a little too loose, so I added some tiny pasta. Absorbed the excess water and became the perfect thickness! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
It is just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I made this for my husband's super bowl party and it was a great hit. igive it a 5 in easy preparation and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Vandeventer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emory, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
no way. kids didn't touch it! i wasted the $5.oo it took to make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States