Hawaiian Hot Dog Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Everyone really liked this, at first I was weary with the pineapples, but they were great. I would recommend not eating leftovers from the day before, with the sugar in the recipe it became too strong and thick with sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Fletcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roaming Shores, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
My husband and I didn't particularily care for this recipe. We found it wayyyyyy too sweet. We might try it again but will cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
My family really enjoyed this dish, even my very pick 2 year old. However I did find the sauce a little to runny, and would like to find out how to fix it because I plan to make this dish for and upcoming birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyMakingMachine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Twin Valley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
I thought I'd make this dish as a quick fix for our company on Saturday. It's not what I expected, thought it would be thick like a salsa so I thought the gang can scoop it with taco chips but when it was done I found it too juicy. The taste was great though so next time I will not add in the pineapple juice to see how it turns out. GOOD STUFF!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEEPERLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
So the kids loved it but it was not my favorite as the sweetness was overwhelming. I advise to consider cutting back on sugars. I also expected it to be a little thicker but instead it was more like a soup consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
Only so-so. My kids didn't really eat it, and my husband and I didn't really care for it (and I love all the ingredients). I only added 1 cup of brown sugar and a tablespoon or two of white sugar and it was still plenty sweet. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vashon Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
So Good! I like spicy stuff (even hot dogs) so i added a schluk of Thai BBQ sauce to this recipe. The hot and the sweet blended perfectly. I thought the sauce was a little too loose, so I added some tiny pasta. Absorbed the excess water and became the perfect thickness! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
It is just OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I made this for my husband's super bowl party and it was a great hit. igive it a 5 in easy preparation and great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Vandeventer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emory, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
no way. kids didn't touch it! i wasted the $5.oo it took to make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States