Hawaiian Hot Dog Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I didnt use all the brown sugar, and I was pleasantly surprised how good this was. I would not eat it every day, but for those leftover hotdogs it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was alright...lots of preservatives and lots of sugar! Probably won't make this again. It was alright...definetely a "kid friendly" food, but I probably won't even make it when I have kids since there are so many preservatives and sugar in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
We didn't make this recipe quite as written - rather we used it as an alternative to plain hot dogs on a bun. Drain the beans well with a slotted spoon and put them in the bun before the hot dog- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I grew up with a different version of this recipe that included chow mein noodles. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it was plenty sweet! I used 1 pkg of litte smokies, 2 cans Maple baked beans, and 2 cans of drained pinapple tidbits. Was a hit with all of us, but I couldn't imagine using any more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
more like hawaiian slop....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaJoanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Lotawana, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was a great tasting recipe. We don't like hotdogs unless they are fried in a pan, so I used Cocktail smokies. It was a bit runny so next time, I will drain the pinapple. I also didn't use the 1 cup of white sugar. Im glad I didn't because it would have made it to sweet. The family liked it and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I sauted one pound of sliced hot dogs in a medium hot pan until they were nicely browned, added a chopped onion and continued to cook until onion was carmalized. I added three cans of beans with pork in tomato sauce and one can of pineapple tidbits with the juice. I didn't add any sugar. I reduced the heat to medium low and cooked it until beans were hot (about 15 minutes) I served it over toasted and buttered english muffins. Entire family thought it was tasty. Lighter tasting than traditional beans and weiners. Is our new go to lazy pantry dinner-in-a-hurry. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I thought this was way way too sweet. I only used half the sugar, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vernylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Far too sweet, even for my kids. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Hawaiian Sweet & Sour Smoked Sausage

Enjoy the sweet-and-savory taste of the islands in no time.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States