Hawaiian Hot Dog Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
I didnt use all the brown sugar, and I was pleasantly surprised how good this was. I would not eat it every day, but for those leftover hotdogs it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was alright...lots of preservatives and lots of sugar! Probably won't make this again. It was alright...definetely a "kid friendly" food, but I probably won't even make it when I have kids since there are so many preservatives and sugar in this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
We didn't make this recipe quite as written - rather we used it as an alternative to plain hot dogs on a bun. Drain the beans well with a slotted spoon and put them in the bun before the hot dog- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I grew up with a different version of this recipe that included chow mein noodles. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and it was plenty sweet! I used 1 pkg of litte smokies, 2 cans Maple baked beans, and 2 cans of drained pinapple tidbits. Was a hit with all of us, but I couldn't imagine using any more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
more like hawaiian slop....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaJoanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Lotawana, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This was a great tasting recipe. We don't like hotdogs unless they are fried in a pan, so I used Cocktail smokies. It was a bit runny so next time, I will drain the pinapple. I also didn't use the 1 cup of white sugar. Im glad I didn't because it would have made it to sweet. The family liked it and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Graysville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I sauted one pound of sliced hot dogs in a medium hot pan until they were nicely browned, added a chopped onion and continued to cook until onion was carmalized. I added three cans of beans with pork in tomato sauce and one can of pineapple tidbits with the juice. I didn't add any sugar. I reduced the heat to medium low and cooked it until beans were hot (about 15 minutes) I served it over toasted and buttered english muffins. Entire family thought it was tasty. Lighter tasting than traditional beans and weiners. Is our new go to lazy pantry dinner-in-a-hurry. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
I thought this was way way too sweet. I only used half the sugar, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vernylynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Far too sweet, even for my kids. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States