Hawaiian Ham Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
It was a bit bland with more of the vinegar taste, so I upped the brown sugar to just over 1/3 cup, added julienned carrots and celery and a tsp of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Tedder-Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was super-easy. I made a couple of tweaks - instead of green pepper, I used 1/2 a finely chopped jalapeno, de-seeded. I also stir-fried the pineapple to char it a bit before adding the sauce. I used white wine instead of vinegar, and a bit of apple juice instead of water. I made Arborio rice on the side. All in all, it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azgkrudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luck, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was good. Not great, but good. I liked the sauce and plan to use this in asian dishes in the future. I used Deli mustard with horseraddish and white wine vinegar. I didn't have peppers so I used julienned carrots, green onions, and water chestnuts. Kids liked the pineapple but by they end were pushing the food around on their plate. I think the sauce would be good over just vegetable stirfry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Halved this recipe because it is just my husband and I. Also added a little soy sauce and red pepper for color. Marked this as a favorite and will be using it whenever we have leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Nobody in our house really like this recipe. Maybe if we substituted the mustard with soy sauce, but I don't know if I could get anyone to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I was looking for a different recipe using ham and this is it! My family really enjoyed this. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Great!! I used julienned onions & carrots instead of green peppers (yuk) and this dish was a family pleaser. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I was happy to find an alternative for leftover ham - but my family did not care for this, my husband called it "bland" maybe I could have added some red pepper flakes, but we won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Great recipe! I used 3 8-oz cans of crushed pineapple and upped the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. I also added a dash of teryaki sauce. With the little tweaks - came out perfect! Thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Fast and easy! It had great flavor. My kids were skeptical at first but all three liked it. I wasn't sure what kind of vinegar would be best. I used apple cider vinegar with excellent result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States