Hawaiian Ham Skillet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
It was a bit bland with more of the vinegar taste, so I upped the brown sugar to just over 1/3 cup, added julienned carrots and celery and a tsp of soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Tedder-Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was super-easy. I made a couple of tweaks - instead of green pepper, I used 1/2 a finely chopped jalapeno, de-seeded. I also stir-fried the pineapple to char it a bit before adding the sauce. I used white wine instead of vinegar, and a bit of apple juice instead of water. I made Arborio rice on the side. All in all, it's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azgkrudi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Luck, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brendenj
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was good. Not great, but good. I liked the sauce and plan to use this in asian dishes in the future. I used Deli mustard with horseraddish and white wine vinegar. I didn't have peppers so I used julienned carrots, green onions, and water chestnuts. Kids liked the pineapple but by they end were pushing the food around on their plate. I think the sauce would be good over just vegetable stirfry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendenj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Halved this recipe because it is just my husband and I. Also added a little soy sauce and red pepper for color. Marked this as a favorite and will be using it whenever we have leftover ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Nobody in our house really like this recipe. Maybe if we substituted the mustard with soy sauce, but I don't know if I could get anyone to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TICKLEGRASS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I was looking for a different recipe using ham and this is it! My family really enjoyed this. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Great!! I used julienned onions & carrots instead of green peppers (yuk) and this dish was a family pleaser. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn Cotter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I was happy to find an alternative for leftover ham - but my family did not care for this, my husband called it "bland" maybe I could have added some red pepper flakes, but we won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Great recipe! I used 3 8-oz cans of crushed pineapple and upped the brown sugar to 1/2 cup. I also added a dash of teryaki sauce. With the little tweaks - came out perfect! Thanks for the idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Fast and easy! It had great flavor. My kids were skeptical at first but all three liked it. I wasn't sure what kind of vinegar would be best. I used apple cider vinegar with excellent result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States