Hawaiian Fried Won Tons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
I made these for an annual luau potluck, and they were a complete hit! Everyone loved them, especially the people who said they probably wouldn't have even tried them had they known there was Spam involved! I couldn't get anything but small round wrappers at the time, so this recipe made about twice as much filling as I could fit in the smaller wrappers. I took the suggestion of using reduced-sodium Spam and was pleased. I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Okay, the filling makes WAY more than what you could possibly stuff in 14 oz. of won ton wrappers(I had at least half leftover) but it was really good and I highly recommend. This was only the second time I had tasted SPAM and the first time I had actually bought it. These were really good with some dipping sauce. I watched a video on Youtube for fancy folding but other than that, I stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Super easy and Onolicious! Only thing though, Use less sodium spam. Mine was kinda salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I HATE SPAM, but mysteriously 3 cans of it were in my pantry. Not one to waste with a family of 5, I decided I would try this recipe. It was Ono, which is what we have named this dish at our house. I had Low Sodium and Turkey varities of Spam. I will make this again, thanks Elizabeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I concur! This recipe is always a hit at parties, and I don't tell them it contains Spam 'til AFTER they've had a taste and declared how delicious it is. It's definitely easy, but it's not something you can whip up in 15 minutes, since it takes time to chop the ingredients, fill the won ton wrappers, and then fry them. (Plan for an hour-and-a-half.) They're definitely worth the time, and the smell of deep fried food that lasts in the house for a day or two! Tip #1: The original recipe indicates that it serves 10. My personal experience, though, is that it serves five, so if you're serving 10, you'd better double it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Instead of frying the wontons, which would have taken forever. . .I formed and baked them in mini muffin tins. Then I was able to place them in a ziploc bag. Finally, at the party we just filled up the won ton cups with the filling I stored in a bowl and nuked them for about a minute. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Wow, this recipe's a keeper! I made these for a Hawaiian-themed party last night and everyone loved them! I had a hard time using the regular sized won-ton wrappers, so I used the larger sized wrappers, and I rolled them up like egg rolls. They were a LOT easier to work with. To save time, I scrambled the eggs like another reviewer suggested. I added some chinese hot mustard alongside the sweet and sour sauce, like they do in Chinese restaurants. That worked well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
These wonton were great. I made them for a Christmas party for work that had Hawaiian theme and they may of lasted 5 mins. Even at home, my family couldn't leave them alone. I deep fried mine in a deep fryer and they came out nice and crispy. I did change the ingredients around a bit, instead of egg I used mango (canned or fresh works great) and I used about an 8 oz can of crushed pineapple as well. Also, if you have problems working with the wonton skins use egg roll skins instead. They are much larger and easier to stuff and handle. Awesome recipe once again. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
As a former "spam hater", I was skeptical of this recipe. I made a couple test won tons, fried them, and taste tested. These are amazing ... I couldn't believe something with spam and hard boiled eggs as main ingredients could be this good. I took them to a luau this evening ... served them with a sweet/sour dipping sauce and garnished them with mini skewers alternating pineapple chunks and maraschino cherries. They were a hit ... no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
People were shocked to learn that there was spam in there. It didn't stop them from eating them all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States