Hawaiian Fried Won Tons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
Super easy and Onolicious! Only thing though, Use less sodium spam. Mine was kinda salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
I HATE SPAM, but mysteriously 3 cans of it were in my pantry. Not one to waste with a family of 5, I decided I would try this recipe. It was Ono, which is what we have named this dish at our house. I had Low Sodium and Turkey varities of Spam. I will make this again, thanks Elizabeth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
These won tons are great! The only problem I found was for first time won ton makers (like myself) it would have been VERY helpful to know that you cannot stack the precooked won tons together. I had no idea that when I was ready to cook them I would have a HUGE ball of sticky dough that could not be pulled apart! Out of the 100 I had made I had to throw out quite a big pile of useless goo. Please make sure when you make this recipe to lay your won tons side by side and keep covered so they don't dry out. Also, the recipe makes 10 servings - I tripled it and made about 150 won tons for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
I made these for an annual luau potluck, and they were a complete hit! Everyone loved them, especially the people who said they probably wouldn't have even tried them had they known there was Spam involved! I couldn't get anything but small round wrappers at the time, so this recipe made about twice as much filling as I could fit in the smaller wrappers. I took the suggestion of using reduced-sodium Spam and was pleased. I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENSPIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
I was skeptical after reading the ingredients, but decided to trust the reviewers! These were great. Easy to make. Brought them to a small gathering for a "test run". They were a hit - everybody liked them (of course I didn't tell them the ingredients until after they tried them). I really minced/ground up the filling for a nice even consistency (I put the cubed spam & water chestnuts in my cuisinart) & added an extra Tbsp of the oyster sauce b/c mixture seemed a little dry. Also, I used SCRAMBLED eggs instead of hard boiled (it was quicker). I used regular spam & did NOT find it to be too salty. I made the wontons ahead of time, covered w/ plastic wrap and kept in the fridge for a couple of hours. Brought them to my friends' and fried them up there (it just takes a few minutes) This made about 50 DELICIOUS wontons. Served these with a bottled sweet & sour sauce for dipping- although they were also good without the sauce. Will definitely make a double batch for an upcoming luau. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
We had these for my daughters 1st birthday party (a froggy/swamp theme), they were very good though the tips of the wonton wrappers were so crispy they were a little hard to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
I concur! This recipe is always a hit at parties, and I don't tell them it contains Spam 'til AFTER they've had a taste and declared how delicious it is. It's definitely easy, but it's not something you can whip up in 15 minutes, since it takes time to chop the ingredients, fill the won ton wrappers, and then fry them. (Plan for an hour-and-a-half.) They're definitely worth the time, and the smell of deep fried food that lasts in the house for a day or two! Tip #1: The original recipe indicates that it serves 10. My personal experience, though, is that it serves five, so if you're serving 10, you'd better double it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Maybe my expectations were a little too high on this recipe. I thought it was good, but I don't know if I'll make it again. Maybe I would have enjoyed them more if I didn't know that Spam was in them. My roommate seemed to really like them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Instead of frying the wontons, which would have taken forever. . .I formed and baked them in mini muffin tins. Then I was able to place them in a ziploc bag. Finally, at the party we just filled up the won ton cups with the filling I stored in a bowl and nuked them for about a minute. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Awesome recipe!! Every body at the party loved it and had no clue it was made with spam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States