Hawaiian Fried Won Tons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I grew up on SPAM and its cousin deviled ham. This recipe is great, but, adding chopped pineapple set it apart from others that I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I never thought we would like spam:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Per reviews, I -1- minced the ham & chestnuts in my food processor -2- used SCRAMBLED eggs -3- rolled to wrap. I used LEFTOVER HAM instead of spam. Made these hours ahead, put in pan lined with wax paper, wax paper between each layer. I thought these were just ok. People at the party had nice things to say & none were left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I LOVED this, but my daughter and hubby were less than thrilled, I won't put the oyster sauce in next time, and use sweet and sour sauce or pineapple juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
These wonton were great. I made them for a Christmas party for work that had Hawaiian theme and they may of lasted 5 mins. Even at home, my family couldn't leave them alone. I deep fried mine in a deep fryer and they came out nice and crispy. I did change the ingredients around a bit, instead of egg I used mango (canned or fresh works great) and I used about an 8 oz can of crushed pineapple as well. Also, if you have problems working with the wonton skins use egg roll skins instead. They are much larger and easier to stuff and handle. Awesome recipe once again. Thanks a million.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I wish I'd copied the previous reviewer and used egg roll wrappers - half a can of spam made about 25 won tons, and it was so tedious folding them up in their little envelopes. I personally don't think they were worth the effort; I had a couple, and got tired of them fast. Husband, however, enthusiastically munched his way though them, and declared them a 'solid four.' Thanks, Elizabeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Wow, this recipe's a keeper! I made these for a Hawaiian-themed party last night and everyone loved them! I had a hard time using the regular sized won-ton wrappers, so I used the larger sized wrappers, and I rolled them up like egg rolls. They were a LOT easier to work with. To save time, I scrambled the eggs like another reviewer suggested. I added some chinese hot mustard alongside the sweet and sour sauce, like they do in Chinese restaurants. That worked well with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
Awesome recipe!! Every body at the party loved it and had no clue it was made with spam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Instead of frying the wontons, which would have taken forever. . .I formed and baked them in mini muffin tins. Then I was able to place them in a ziploc bag. Finally, at the party we just filled up the won ton cups with the filling I stored in a bowl and nuked them for about a minute. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Maybe my expectations were a little too high on this recipe. I thought it was good, but I don't know if I'll make it again. Maybe I would have enjoyed them more if I didn't know that Spam was in them. My roommate seemed to really like them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

House Fried Rice

Quick-and-easy fried rice loaded up with shrimp, ham, chicken, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States