Hawaiian French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2004
Tasty! I gave this recipe a try today, and loved it! I did not have any Hawaiian sweet bread, so I used Texas Toast instead, and it still came out great! I love the hint of rum flavor with the orange. I also did not make the sauce, but simply ate it with a sprinkling of sugar. Great, but will have to get everything that I need for the sauce and try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
YUM, YUM & YUM again!! This is an awesome alternative to the super heavy french toast I'm used to. It will be a perfect summer breakfast out by the pool!! I think I definetly have to add toasted coconut on top next time, and may experiment with the syrup...but this is just great! Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I have used hawaiian bread for years as a french toast base. I like this recipe but I like a little simpler. I do the basic base of whole eggs, milk, vanilla, etc. and have found that the french vanilla creamer I use in my coffee makes an excellent addition to the batch. I also skip the fruit and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
Yum! I didn't have rum extract, and I only used maple syrup instead of the fruit sauce, but the honey really made a big difference in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
This was really good. Don't skip the rum extract - it really adds to the flavor. I didn't have enough egg mixture to use the whole loaf of Hawaiian bread, but since I was feeding two people, it worked out better anyway. The fruit topping is easy and quite tasty, although you had better be in the mood for something sweet - whew! I accidentally added 1 teaspoon of orange rind to the sauce but it just made it even fruitier. All in all, a delicious meal that thoroughly satisfies your sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Plainsboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Yummy! This was delicious!!!! Very moist and flavorful. I didn't have the rum extract, so I used 1 tsp coconut rum instead and it still came out great=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junior's_Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
The stores around here don't carry Hawaiian bread, and I didn't have time to make it so I used Portuguese sweet bread. Everyone enjoyed this, and I will make again. I topped it off with coconut syrup from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I didn't have any Hawaiian bread, I used Italian bread. I wasn't so crazy about the syrup, regular syrup would have been better. I also agree with another reviewer, pineapple chunks would be better than crushed pineapple. I toasted sliced almonds and topped the toast with them while cooking so that they would adhere to the toast. I also sprinkled with some shredded coconut lastly. I feel that adding a bit of coconut extract to the egg mixture would have been better. Because I wanted a truly "tropical" tasting french toast, I topped the finished toast with a few slices of banana before serving. On the side, a few slices of mango to seal the deal! All of the elements were there, yet somehow it just didn't "wow" me. Maybe it was the bread? I feel my version needs a bit more tweaking to make it the tropical french toast I was looking for when I searched for this recipe. Yet the base of this recipe is lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This was a wonderful addition to our normal brunch fare! Even my pickier hubby loved the sweet french toast. The syrup is fantastic, but I don't think it even needed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quita143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cortland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Absolutely delicious! Absolutely the best french toast I've had yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States