Hawaiian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I was hesitant to use this b/c most of my family is very set in their ways. My hubby even cringed and couldn't believe I would mess with a good thing. but I did it anyway and I received more compliments on this. I followed the recipe exact for using the bagged slaw mix. Mine wasn't soupy at all. Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I made this for a Hawaiian Luau last month and it was a big hit. It was easy to make but I made 50 servings, so it was difficult finding large enough bowls to mix it in. I will make it again. It is not good for leftovers due to amount of liquid it makes once it sits in the frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Out of the group of about 15 I served this to, only one person really liked this recipe. Something about the flavor just wasn't right. It was easy to make but we just didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I made this for a "luau" at my son's school. It was a great hit! I loved it, too. I wanted to pass on how I presented it. I cut a pineapple down the middle lengthwise (I used my electric knife, which made it sooo easy.) I cut out the insides to make a pineapple boat. I then filled the two halves with the coleslaw. It was so great that I am going to do it again this weekend. Oh, yeah, I used a bag of shredded slaw mix instead of shredding my own. Made it very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
I made this for a party and I had to add a lot to it to make it taste the way I thought it should. I thought it was going to be a lot better than it actually was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Loved this! I agree with adding the juice to the mayo. I added roasted peanuts, also, at the end. Served with a fruited pork loin roast, and rice. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Made for a Hawaiian dinner party. I used a bag of shredded cabbage because it seems to be dryer and better for coleslaw. The bag was a bit more than 4 cups. It was really good. The flavour was quite different! I loved it! The only change I made was to omit the salt. I almost never add salt. Next time I won't toss the cabbage with the liquid from the oranges, I'll mix it (and the seasonings) with the mayo. And I would only use 2 Tbsp of mayo. Also, add the oranges last so you don't crush them when you stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
This was a nice variation of the original. I will make it again for themed parties. It didn't taste nearly as good the next day, so only make what you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
This is a fantastic salad. I made this as part of a Hawaiian menu for a luau-style birthday party. It was fresh, sweet and colorful and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This is a sweet slaw. It is flavorful and good. I'm not a big coleslaw person, but I will have to make this again sometime. I HIGHLY recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States