Hawaiian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I make this and serve it over BBQ pulled pork on kings hawaiian buns delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This was a perfect addition to the Kalua pig recipe. I used a bit too much juice, but the crunch was a nice compliment to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I'm not really a big fan of cole slaw in general so the addition of these extras (mandarin oranges, pineapple, ginger, and nutmeg) sounded like a good version that was perfect for a luau themed pot luck coming up. However I must really be used to the taste of ginger and nutmeg because I could barely taste either one! But overall it was a good version of cole slaw that disappeared quickly and I would definitely make it again. The oranges and pineapple are really what makes it special. I used a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw mix, which I highly recommend doing, unless you enjoy the act of shredding cabbage. I also added about a tablespoon more mayo than the recipe calls for since it seemed a tad lacking when I mixed it up at first. Next time I'll use a touch more ginger and nutmeg too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goddess63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
tasty, crisp, light, not sweet, not tangy. I was pleasantly surprised at the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Flachsbart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Made this for my 30th birthday party and this went along great with the Luau theme. I like a good bit of dressing in my coleslaw so that everything is nicely coated, so I upped the amount of mayo to 1 cup, which was the amount used in another similar recipe - 1/3 cup just didn't seem like hardly any for 4 cups of cabbage! I did not have any white pepper so I left that out, and I may or may not have omitted the nutmeg. Overall, it was pretty good, but I felt like it needed more ginger and perhaps a bit of sugar. I would make this again, but play around with the measurements to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
We enjoyed this refreshing take on coleslaw! I used a bagged coleslaw mix, cut the nutmeg back to just a pinch (I know how overpowering nutmeg can be), used 2 Tbsps. of mandarin orange liquid and added 2 teaspoons of sugar to the dressing mix, which I mixed all up before adding the slaw and finally the pineapple and oranges. This really does need the time in the fridge for all the flavors to marry. I would make this again! Thanks for sahring. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I used slightly less nutmeg & mayo and used a bag of coleslaw mix instead of shredding my own. Skipped the salt. I didn't have crushed pineapple, just rings, so I chopped them up. I did as other said to add everything (spices & juice) to the mayo first then mixing it all up. It got mixed reviews... A little too sweet and spice-y. I didn't try any, but overall won't make this again as it doesn't suit our tastes. Made as a side to 'Aloha Chicken Burgers' from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ROO911
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
i will SOOOOO make this again...it went great with the Kahlua pork and rice i made... i mixed the dressing and let set in fridge for bout an hour, and didnt add the oranges and pineapples till bout 10 mins before serving.... it was OUTSTANDING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROO911

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Dublin, California, USA
Photo by Shiela
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
It was very good. I served it in a pineapple boat(as someone else suggested) and for our luau it was a great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States