Hawaiian Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pat
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I made this for a party we gave for a friend moving to Hawaii, it was dee-lish. Instead of canned crushed pineapple, I used the fresh pineapple pulp I crushed in scooping it out of a ripe pineapple, and then served the slaw in the two empty halves of the fruit. It was a beautiful presentation. I'm going to repeat it for another Hawaiian themed party this weekend, but will have to triple the recipe for a bigger crowd. I also used pre-shredded slaw instead of cutting up my own cabbage, everything else was by the book. Easy and yummy, what more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I prepared this a little differently but used all the ingredients. Used fresh mandarin orange sections and soaked them for a few hours with the pineapple, salt/pepper, ginger (used a little less of this than recipe called for because I am not a huge fan of ginger) and nutmeg. One hour before serving I mixed this with the cabbage and mayonnaise and chilled until ready to serve. Very tasty!! A hit at our luau dinner. Thanks ChristyJ for flavorful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Very nice and refreshing. I left out the nutmeg and added a dash of cinnamon in it's place and used fat free mayo. I also added some shredded carrots and some purple cabbage. It was a very colorful salad and would absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I make this and serve it over BBQ pulled pork on kings hawaiian buns delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This was a perfect addition to the Kalua pig recipe. I used a bit too much juice, but the crunch was a nice compliment to the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I'm not really a big fan of cole slaw in general so the addition of these extras (mandarin oranges, pineapple, ginger, and nutmeg) sounded like a good version that was perfect for a luau themed pot luck coming up. However I must really be used to the taste of ginger and nutmeg because I could barely taste either one! But overall it was a good version of cole slaw that disappeared quickly and I would definitely make it again. The oranges and pineapple are really what makes it special. I used a bag of pre-shredded cole slaw mix, which I highly recommend doing, unless you enjoy the act of shredding cabbage. I also added about a tablespoon more mayo than the recipe calls for since it seemed a tad lacking when I mixed it up at first. Next time I'll use a touch more ginger and nutmeg too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goddess63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
tasty, crisp, light, not sweet, not tangy. I was pleasantly surprised at the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sflash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Made this for my 30th birthday party and this went along great with the Luau theme. I like a good bit of dressing in my coleslaw so that everything is nicely coated, so I upped the amount of mayo to 1 cup, which was the amount used in another similar recipe - 1/3 cup just didn't seem like hardly any for 4 cups of cabbage! I did not have any white pepper so I left that out, and I may or may not have omitted the nutmeg. Overall, it was pretty good, but I felt like it needed more ginger and perhaps a bit of sugar. I would make this again, but play around with the measurements to make it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
We enjoyed this refreshing take on coleslaw! I used a bagged coleslaw mix, cut the nutmeg back to just a pinch (I know how overpowering nutmeg can be), used 2 Tbsps. of mandarin orange liquid and added 2 teaspoons of sugar to the dressing mix, which I mixed all up before adding the slaw and finally the pineapple and oranges. This really does need the time in the fridge for all the flavors to marry. I would make this again! Thanks for sahring. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States