Hawaiian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Oh so so Good! I will certainly be serving this dish on a regular basis. I did as another reviewer, and cooked it in a skillet on the stove top on a very low heat using boneless chicken breasts cut into large chunks. Other than that I followed the recipe as written. If I were to change anything next time it may be to cut the ketchup back a little. Since it said it served six, I was hoping to have some leftovers, but it was so delicious three of us finished the whole thing, served with jasmine rice. My picky husband went back for thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy at Home

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
i made this in the crockpot and my chicken came out really dry (how does that happen in the crockpot?) but i liked (not loved) the sauce -- skipped the butter and salt and cornstarch, food processed 1 fresh pineapple and used red pepper flakes instead of chili powder (couldn't taste the spice at all). also added a large drained can of yams. served over rice. would make again, but try it baked next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This is a great recipe that everyone will enjoy! I decided to marinate the chicken in the mixture for 3 hours and then BBQ the chicken. I am not sure if that made a difference or not. Then I made a new batch of the mixture with butter and brought to a boil and let thicken. Then I added the BBQ'd chicken and the left over pineapple. Served over brown rice. Alongside on the grill I cooked red and yellow bell peppers and mushrooms soaked in teriyaki which gave the plate and nice colorful look and perfect accompaniment. Very easy to make. Served it to two other families on Memorial Day who also loved it. Thanks Lois!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
**revising** changing my three star rating to four. I followed the recipe except that I also added fresh ginger that was minced. The night I cooked it my bf liked it but the next day he liked it even better as the ginger flavor had really come thru. Maybe I'll add the ginger earlier next time. Last time I added it just at the end with the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
this was not to my liking. my husband couldnt even finish 1/3rd of it. i followed it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sgash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The chicken was okay with the sauce but the pineapple was not to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Delicious! I only cooked mine for 45 minutes covered, then about 15 uncovered and it was great! My four year old ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was so good! I made the sauce (w/o the soy as my son is allergic) on the stove, added the pineapple and allowed it to boil for a few minutes. I then poured it over the boneless chicken breast in the crockpot and cooked on low for 5hrs and then 1 hour on high. My girls had 2 servings and told me to make this again. I shredded the chicken up to serve and poured the juice all over it. Made rice pilaf and couscous to go with it. Again a very easy, very tender chicken dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Not for us - too much tomato flavor that I feel doesn't mix with the sweet stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This recipe is great. I made a few changes. I coated the chicken with flour (I used boneless chicken breast cut into strips) and browned it in a little oil. For the sauce I did not put pineapple chunks in the sauce, I used pineapple rings, and placed the rings on top of chicken, I also arranged green pepper rings on top. I am not a chili powder fan, so I omitted that. I cut the baking time in half. The result a beautiful, and delicious dish. This is a family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharleeRose

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States