Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
I made this for a Hawaiian-themed bbq. I read through many of the other reviews & found them very helpful. I gathered together the most pertinent info & the dish turned out wonderful! Here are the changes I made to make the dish 5*'s. I used rice vinegar instead of sherry. Rice vinegar makes chicken tender. I used fresh ginger & garlic. Triple when using fresh herbs. I added fresh mushrooms. You could add other veggies too. As another reviewer pointed out, it is safer to separate the chicken & veggies. After marinating several hours, I skewered the chicken and vegetables separately as they are done at different times. I soaked the skewers in water to keep them from burning. After I skewered the chicken and vegetables I used the left over marinade from the vegetables, like other reviewers suggested, heated it on the stove until boiling & added 2T of cornstarch dissolved in a 1/4 -1/3 of water to make a basting sauce which I applied during the last few minutes of grilling. The dish was a hit! Everyone loved it! The basting sauce was worth the extra few minutes. It really topped it off. Yes, I would make it again! It was worth the time, which really wasn't much. What was time consuming for me was deciding what to make, reading the reviews & putting it all together. I wrote this review hoping to condense all the reviews I read for other viewers so they don't have to go through all the time & trouble I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1883 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
I used fresh pinapple for these and made the mistake of putting the chicken and pinapple on the skewers the night before and marinating. When we ate them the chicken was pasty on the inside. I think it was because the enzyme in the fresh pineapple ate away at the chicken all night. I would recommend marinating the chicken and the pineapple in separate containers and then putting on skewers at the last minute if you are using fresh pinapple. Otherwise it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
416 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
I used 1 tsp. sesame oil (instead of 1 Tbl.) to cut down on the fat, and there was no difference! Marinating overnight is the key. I baked them in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes or so. Awesome!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Awesome marinade! I made skewers with chicken, bell peppers, and pinapple chunks. In addition to marinating the skewers, I took some marinade and simmered until it was reduced by half into a glaze. I then brushed this over the kabobs....Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Followed another cooks suggestion and marinaded the chicken and pineapple separately adding 2 Tbspns more brown sugar to the pineapple marinade portion. With the leftover pineapple marinade I boiled it with a little cornstarch to thicken and basted the completed kabobs. (I thru the chicken marinade out)I also broiled the kabobs and they turned out really good. Tons of flavour. Served with rice and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
My family and I love this. I have modified it by baking the chicken and pineapple chunks in the marinade, and serving with coconut rice. It is so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I made this for a Hawaiian-themed bbq. I read through many of the other reviews & found them very helpful. I gathered together the most pertinent info & the dish turned out wonderful! Here are the changes I made to make the dish 5*'s. I used rice vinegar instead of sherry. Rice vinegar makes chicken tender. I used fresh ginger & garlic. Triple when using fresh herbs. I added fresh mushrooms. You could add other veggies too. As another reviewer pointed out, it is safer to separate the chicken & veggies. After marinating several hours, I skewered the chicken and vegetables separately as they are done at different times. I soaked the skewers in water to keep them from burning. After I skewered the chicken and vegetables I used the left over marinade from the vegetables, like other reviewers suggested, heated it on the stove until boiling & added 2T of cornstarch dissolved in a 1/4 -1/3 of water to make a basting sauce which I applied during the last few minutes of grilling. The dish was a hit! Everyone loved it! The basting sauce was worth the extra few minutes. It really topped it off. Yes, I would make it again! It was worth the time, which really wasn't much. What was time consuming for me was deciding what to make, reading the reviews & putting it all together. I wrote this review hoping to condense all the reviews I read for other viewers so they don't have to go through all the time & trouble I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Everyone loved this recipe. It was extremely easy. It also is very low fat. Next time I would eliminate the powder and use fresh chopped garlic and ginger. I did not marinate the pineapples with the raw chicken (that didn't seem safe to me). I put the onions, chicken and pineapple on separate skewers. Chicken goes on the bbq first, then add the onion skewers, a few minutes later, and for the last 2-3 minutes add the pineapple to the bbq. I served this dish with white rice and it was a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
My husband and I made this on our charcoal grill for the 4 of July and we LOVED IT!! I can't believe we cooked this ourselves. (scaled to 2 servings) We marinated the mushrooms with extra marinade and we marinated the chicken for 4 hours (turning once) and the chicken was perfect, the mushrooms were the most flavorful I have ever tasted! We also added some marachino cherries to our kabobs. We did not marinate the pineapple because we thought it would be mushy, but I think we should have for a little while, it just tasted too tart because it was fresh and didn't quite get cooked enough. We served it over some brown rice. I wish we had made even more marinade to pour on the rice-I highly recommend making 3 times the amount of marinade for basting and marinating the shrooms. The smell was wonderful - I can still smell it! I want more!!! MMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
I made this for guests and it was fabulous. My husband who doesn't care for chicken went nuts for it. I made extra sauce due to preference. I marinated the chicken pieces alone for 3 hours, and marinated the vegetables (green pepper, red pepper, and mushrooms) for 1 hour then broiled in the oven. I chose not to marinate the pineapple. The mixture of ingredients was perfect and I wouldn't change a thing next time. I served with rice pilaf, salad, and Hawaiian bread. I had some chicken left over which I ate cold on a salad the next day which was also fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States