Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Tested it on Saturday and will make it again on Monday for Memorial Day. The marinate has a strong smell but it does not overpower the chicken. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I tried this last night and everyone loved it. I used chicken tenderloins and used canned pineapple instead of fresh since I didn't want to head to the store. Only modification was using some pineapple juice in the marinade too from using the canned pineapple. Let it all sit for 3-4 hrs in the frig and put on skewers. Easy and yummy! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grande, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is a very flavorful recipe that goes very well with white rice and great for the first grill meal of summer. Everyone in my family loved it. I did find it needed a little salt. I also added onions to the kabobs. Everyone in my family like onions with any kind of kabobs. The sweet taste of grilled onions complemented the grilled pineapple perfectly. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I love grilled pineapple. Chicken cooks super quick. Marinade longer than recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Love the recipe. The one ingredient you just can't leave out or substitute is the sesame oil. I also used fresh garlic and fresh ginger and substituted rice wine vinegar for the sherry. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written and it was wonderful. I served it over coconut rice. This little haole found it pure Hawaiian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
These were just awesome. Served with coconut rice, and veggie kabobs (green and red peppers, zuccini, and mushrooms). Per other suggestions, Made an extra batch of marinade cooked with about 1tsp corstarch to thicken slightly and basted chicken and a little on veggies while on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Delish !! Made this tonight. Used fresh garlic, fresh ginger root and fresh pineapple. Also substituted sherry with rice vinegar all per other reviewers. Used a teaspoon of arrowroot and 3 T of cold water to thicken sauce and use as basting sauce on skewers. Absolutely delicious! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
i just use teryaki bought from the store! way faster .if your in a rush
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
We loved this!!! The only change I made was using Teriaki sauce rather than soy sauce, because I didn't have any on hand. Everyone loved them!!Definitely marinate over night. Excellent with pork also. Fresh pineapple is the only way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I read some of the other reviews and incorporated various ideas, and whatever I did came out amazing! My boyfriend kept saying "wow" as he was eating it. Now that I've tried it out on us, it would be a great recipe for a dinner party. Here's what I did: Made double the marinade, using fresh ginger and garlic (and I only did 2 chicken breasts; so if I were doing the full 4, I would quadruple the marinade) . Marinated the chicken first, in one bag, for 2 hours . Marinated fresh pineapple with red peppers, green peppers & purple onions in a separate bag, for 1-2 hours . Threaded chicken and pineapple/veggies on separate kabobs . Put the chicken on the grill, turning every 5 minutes, for a total of about 20 minutes. Put the pineapple/veggies on the grill for the last 10 minutes, turning once halfway through. Meanwhile, heated the marinade from the pineapple/veggies over the stove with a little cornstarch to thicken it. Served over coconut rice (2 cups jasmine ride, 1 cup coconut milk, 2 cups water, 1/2 tsp salt & 2 Tbsp shredded coconut in rice cooker on regular setting), with the thickened marinade drizzled over the top. AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Perlman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States