Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This marinade was absolutely wonderful! Substituted red wine vinegar for the rice wine (I couldn't find it anywhere!) We have made this twice already... once we just made on the stove (which came out very watery but was still delicious), and the second time we finally tried it on the grill! Yum! We have tried with both chicken and shrimp- both are amazing. Highly, highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lynn Dickson
Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Wonderful combination of flavors! As other reviewers suggested, I used freshly ground ginger and minced garlic - nothing compares to fresh - and doubled the marinade ingredients. And, since I don't often go to the trouble of grilling just for myself, I turned this into a stir-fry. After marinading the chicken for several hours I added the pineapple chunks along with orange bell pepper chunks, sweet onion, and mushrooms, letting all the favors blend. Then I did a quick stir fry before adding the remaining marinade and simmering for about 10-15 minutes. Thicken with a little cornstarch and water, serve over coconut jasmine rice (from this site) and... YUMM!!! Already looking forward to tomorrow's leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
My husband has had to eliminate red meat from his diet. So it has been a challenge coming up with different ways to make chicken. We both loved this recipe very much. It was so easy and the chicken came out very moist after grilling. We grilled some onions as well and served with the kabobs. Would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Tested it on Saturday and will make it again on Monday for Memorial Day. The marinate has a strong smell but it does not overpower the chicken. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I tried this last night and everyone loved it. I used chicken tenderloins and used canned pineapple instead of fresh since I didn't want to head to the store. Only modification was using some pineapple juice in the marinade too from using the canned pineapple. Let it all sit for 3-4 hrs in the frig and put on skewers. Easy and yummy! Thanks for posting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Grande, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is a very flavorful recipe that goes very well with white rice and great for the first grill meal of summer. Everyone in my family loved it. I did find it needed a little salt. I also added onions to the kabobs. Everyone in my family like onions with any kind of kabobs. The sweet taste of grilled onions complemented the grilled pineapple perfectly. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I love grilled pineapple. Chicken cooks super quick. Marinade longer than recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Love the recipe. The one ingredient you just can't leave out or substitute is the sesame oil. I also used fresh garlic and fresh ginger and substituted rice wine vinegar for the sherry. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written and it was wonderful. I served it over coconut rice. This little haole found it pure Hawaiian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
These were just awesome. Served with coconut rice, and veggie kabobs (green and red peppers, zuccini, and mushrooms). Per other suggestions, Made an extra batch of marinade cooked with about 1tsp corstarch to thicken slightly and basted chicken and a little on veggies while on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Delish !! Made this tonight. Used fresh garlic, fresh ginger root and fresh pineapple. Also substituted sherry with rice vinegar all per other reviewers. Used a teaspoon of arrowroot and 3 T of cold water to thicken sauce and use as basting sauce on skewers. Absolutely delicious! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States